Book Reading Goal 2013

4 Jan

The last few years I’ve started out by setting a reading goal for myself. Throughout middle school I was reading a book every two days or so, and I found that a high school workload posed a threat to reading for pleasure. In college, where I gained something resembling a social life, it was even more difficult to fit in reading while I was procrastinating writing my thesis by going on Facebook.

Last year, my goal was to read 20 new books. I reached 28 new books (didn’t finish #29 in time) and reread quite a few too. After seeing one of my good friends had read a whole heap more, I decided to make 2013 the year of reading at least one book a week. This year–my first full year out of school since I was four–I want to read 52 books, either new or rereads. Hopefully this isn’t anything resembling an issue, and I can go above and beyond my expectations!

I’m almost done with my first, The Far West by Patricia C. Wrede, and will type up a blog post about that when it’s finished. 52 books means 52 blog post topics, does it not?

3 Responses to “Book Reading Goal 2013”

  1. principalinheels January 22, 2013 at 3:53 am #

    Kudos to an ambitious goal!! I can't wait to see what adventures your writing takes you on.

  2. Emily January 25, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    Thanks so much!! I'm falling a bit behind on this goal at present, but hopefully I'll catch up soon. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013: A Year of Reading in Review | More Than One Page - December 26, 2013

    […] review another book. A couple of you might remember that I started off the year determined to read and review 52 books between January 1 and December 31. Well… I didn’t quite reach that […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

