Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Two

2 Apr

Image

Once again, for those of you who missed it, I am doing one blog post a day with details about my Camp NaNoWriMo experience. With a few friends doing it too, who had some great ideas for the survey, I’ve changed up a few of the questions today. Here goes:

How many words did you write today? 2588
How long did it take you to write them? Let’s see. I started at like 9 and it’s 4 now, but I was pretty highly distracted most of the day and did the bulk of the writing in the last two hours or so.
How many times did you use Write or Die? None!
On what settings? N/A
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Uncountable.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0!
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? Just one today, and only a little one.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.

What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Watching the newest episode of the Saccone-Jolys. I might be a little obsessed.

How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? Just two little “Koala Poos.” Chocolate-covered raisins.

Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 4620
Words to Goal: 45,380
Days Remaining: 28

Today I actually wrote the very last chapter (or scene, I guess) which I told myself I wasn’t going to do because the last time I did that (thesis) the rest of the story warped into something that the original last chapter didn’t fit at all. But I figure it’s NaNo and I’m going to have to rewrite everything anyway. Writing the last chapter gives me a goal to work up to and some structure for building the rest of the story. So, I have a first chapter and a last chapter, how do I get from point A to point B? Like I said, it doesn’t always work out, but as this is a new world with new characters for me, I’m finding it helpful to imagine where they are at the end when compared with the beginning. Does anyone else do this?

I won’t post an excerpt today because it really wasn’t written very well and everyone would be all kinds of confused, but I was extremely happy with my word count today and how relatively easy it was to achieve. This morning I was planning on having it done by 11, but kept getting distracted and was a bit frustrated. But around 2 or so I just set in and looked at my word count a while later and was like holy crap. Hope this trend continues!

Happy NaNoing!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

