Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Four

4 Apr

Image

 

What a day! It was the first day I’d worked a full day, so I knew I was going to be pressed for time. I should have written this morning but I didn’t. I won’t make that mistake next Thursday! When I got home I was out of energy, so my word count isn’t spectacular today. I’m hoping to catch back up on the weekend, but I’ve got other responsibilities then, too–posts for Today I Found Out and Top Shelf Magazine are both going to take precedence. Still, I should be able to dedicate some time.

These last few days have shown me how much I’m in need of a schedule. Without a full-time job or school commitments you’d think it’d be easy to get 50k churned out. But instead I find myself dallying because “I have so much time” with the result that nothing actually gets done. 

I am also, dare I say it, being tempted and teased by The Inner Editor, who I usually don’t have a problem ignoring. It keeps saying that “this is not good enough” and “write that better” and “this is their dialogue, really?” I think I want this to work out so much that I’m almost afraid to write it. Does that happen to anyone else? It’s been so long since I started something new that I a) enjoy and b) have hopes for that it feels like new territory.

Thirdly, I need to find a writing space. The pep talk in my inbox this morning was sort of like “I’m going to be creepy and tell you exactly what you need right now.” I need somewhere quiet and secluded but nice and breezy and sunny too. I’ve been trying to hide out in our room for a few hours each day, but I think what I’m wanting is my room back in the US where the bed is pushed up against the window and I can sit there gazing out all comfy and such. We’ve got a nice balcony here but the bed can’t be there, and I’m really not a chair/desk kind of person. I’m considering cleaning off the couch outside on the patio and novelling there. I shall update on this.

Anyway. Stats for the day:

How many words did you write today? 669
How long did it take you to write them? 7:45 – 8:39
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  None, actually.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0!
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? I
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Watching the new episode of Arrow!
Cups of Tea: 0, but there’s a new kettle so I’m going to go have one now!
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? 0
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 6702
Words to Goal: 43,298
Days Remaining: 26

I also wanted to mention that I have been LOVING reading other people’s blogs about Camp! My cabin isn’t quite as active as previous cabins and I don’t have the huge base of people at university doing this along with me–and I really consider community one of the driving factors of NaNo. So discovering these new blogs has been great.

If you’re reading this and have a blog about Camp or writing in general, feel free to link me below. And I’d love to know how far you are in NaNo. Feel free to copy/paste the above survey and fill in your own answers in a comment. Or even on your own blog. 🙂

‘Til tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Four”

  1. Kathryn April 4, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    Yes, that happens to me. All the time. The Inner Editor is, unsurprisingly, a good friend of mine; we talk often. My trick to keep up my NaNo count and keep up friendly relations with the Editor? If you must edit, create a separate space in the same Word document below the writing that you like and paste all the words that you “cut” from the text there. Separate it out with a symbol you’re not likely to use in the actual text (I tend to use #). I use that symbol and the find/search key to jump to the end of my writing too (since Word always bumps you back to the top every time you open the program). That way the words are still in your word count, but they’re easy to delete when NaNo is over, and you’ve made concessions to the Editor for a cleaner text over all.

    I hope that helps, my friend.

    • inkhearted April 7, 2013 at 12:53 am #

      Good idea, Kathryn! I think I will do that. There are some scenes that just need to be completely rewritten, so I’ll just put a # where I rewrite them or something. Writing is hard work.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

