Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Five

5 Apr

Write or Die Session #1:
1103 words in 34 minutes.
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Write or Die Session #2:
564 words, 13 minutes.
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

As you can see, today started off pretty strong. I made a list of goals for myself last night because I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to accomplish everything. Lists are good things to have–I need to remember them more often! Anyway, my list went something like this:

1. Wake up at a reasonable hour. (Woke up at 7:45).
2. Check Facebook + Hotmail (no more than half an hour–check!)
3. Finish NaNoWriMo word count. Try for under 1 hr. (check! 47 minutes, with a short break in between each of the above sessions.)

Plus, I cleaned the room, made the bed, did two loads of laundry, AND completed my Today I Found Out article–which was one of the things stressing me out the most, I think. If I find an article topic that I like it really doesn’t take too long to research/write it. This article ended up being an additional 1100 words, which I wrote in about an hour and a half (with research). I need to keep that in mind so I stop freaking out about them.

At any rate, I’m writing this blog post at 1:00 p.m.  having felt like I’ve accomplished ALL the things and hoping to accomplish a few more, including possibly finishing a book I started yesterday, and a much-needed grocery shop. THEN I’ll come back and try to write a few more words. Because unlike yesterday, when I felt too tired to do much of anything, I feel kind of energized today and want to keep going. I won’t push myself too hard, though. I like feeling like I’ve left off with so much more to write, because it makes it easier to start the next day.

This morning I wrote a scene where I introduced Main Character to Love Interest and Guy She Will Argue With For The Rest Of The Book And Beyond. It was fun to write, but at the same time the characters feel a bit… I don’t know… hollow? Whenever I wrote scenes for my thesis, I always felt like the characters were the strongest bit while the plot was falling down around my ears. Now I feel like the plot is actually pretty solid, but when I write dialogue or descriptions for the characters I feel like I’ve been transported back to twelve-year-old me writing dribble. Ugh! I guess it’s going to take a few more drafts to hone everything. (Just… hopefully not ten years, like Thesis!)

Edit, 7:39 P.M.: Okay… I haven’t written anything else. I have done several more loads of laundry (I don’t know where it comes from!) and read 120 pages of a book (Snow in Summer by Jane Yolen) and ate dinner and did dinner dishes, etc. Now I’m off to do some vlog editing, but I might still get around to writing a bit more. I think I’ll have to put that up with tomorrow’s though.

How many words did you write today? 1707
How long did it take you to write them? 47 minutes
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Just one small one.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0! (tomorrow doesn’t look as good, though)
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? NONE. The wonders of Write or Die.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Being able to move on to the TIFO writing project, which in turn gave me some peace of mind.
Cups of Tea: 1
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? 0
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 8,409
Words to Goal: 41,591
Days Remaining: 25

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

