Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Six

6 Apr

Image

I was SO LAME today. Okay, not TOTALLY lame, but with yesterday being such a productive day, today was decidedly not. I wrote enough words to catch me up but not enough to send me over again. Basically, Thor woke me up around 5:30 instead of 6:30, which meant that I was super tired and fell back asleep instead of using him as an alarm clock and just waking up… with the result that I ended up sleeping in until 9:30 which is ridiculous for me. Because I already felt like the whole day was wasted, I sat around on Facebook until about 11, at which point I got ready and we headed out to do some much needed grocery shopping, and then I secluded myself in our room to do some Serious Writing… and went on Facebook again.

Once I actually got into it, it wasn’t so hard writing this scene, though the characters started veering off in ways I didn’t expect. You see, the Prince is meant to be outwardly charming and inwardly angry at the world, but right now he’s just outwardly angry at the world, which isn’t really helping the plot but IS helping me get some great dialogue from my MC. Win some, lose some.

I’m thinking about just shutting these two away in a closet somewhere and making them talk at each other to get to know them better. It probably wouldn’t be a scene that would be included in the actual novel, but despite filling out some character surveys and interview questions and what have you, I’m just not feeling that connection. Does anyone have any tips and tricks for getting to know your characters?

Any rate, I’m feeling pretty good about today. I left off where I’ll reveal a Plot Point so I’ll have lots of stuff to write about tomorrow. Tomorrow I also have another TIFO article to write if I want to stay on top of that, plus a Top Shelf article to write (which I should have written today… oops). Monday, though. Monday I will push ahead again!

How many words did you write today? 1609
How long did it take you to write them? An hour, once I actually got going.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Too many to count.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0! (Next time though… next time.)
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? None today!
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Eating. I’m not even joking. I realized I’d skipped lunch about halfway into today’s word count and I was about to keel over, but I was like, “If I stop now I won’t pick this up again…” Let me tell you, it worked like a charm.
Cups of Tea: 1 – green tea with mint, my favorite.
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? 1 slice of cookies and creme oreo pudding pie.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 10,018
Words to Goal: 39,982
Days Remaining: 24

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

5 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Six”

  1. whiteravensoars April 6, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    I have pretty extensive character sheets that I made that I fill in… not always before I start, but as I meet new characters. The one I made is two pages front and back, two columns per page… yeah I like to know a LOT about my characters. Of course, I also write in the first person, so I usually know at least my main character as well as myself… and when I am getting stuck with a character, often I will write “journal entries” from their different points of view, or a piece of the story from their point of view instead, just to learn about them, and what they know that maybe I didn’t. I know, I know, supposedly if they know it I know it, but I have never found that to be the case. I only know what my characters share with me…

    • inkhearted April 7, 2013 at 12:51 am #

      I’m wondering if that’s my problem–I’ve been writing first person for so long, but I switched to third for this one. I might just have to switch back! The journal entries/POV switch is a good idea, I hadn’t thought of that. I’ll give it a try. 🙂

      • whiteravensoars April 7, 2013 at 12:57 am #

        This story actually has character POV shifts, and I have never done that before, but I think it is going to really work well. I have never written in third, I tried in one of my last stories, after NaNo, but I just can’t seem to catch the hang of it. My english instructor at college used to get upset, I guess they want you to be able to write all different ways *grins*

      • inkhearted April 7, 2013 at 1:02 am #

        I know how that feels! My English professors always set poetry assignments, and I simply cannot write poetry. I’ve tried POV shifts before, but when I tried it didn’t suit the story I was writing. I don’t think it would suit this one either, but some of my favorite books have multiple POVs and they’re fun to read, so I’d love to write one some time.

      • whiteravensoars April 7, 2013 at 1:04 am #

        often I write the other point of view just to learn some of the things I am missing. Actually usually when I read a book in the first peron that switches POV I get ticked and will skip to my favorite characters *grins* so I am really surprised that I have added it this time as an actual part of the story, buut… I guess sometimes you just gotta *grins*

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

