Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Nine

9 Apr

Image

Today was a breeze, for which I’m thankful. Like I said, I had a lot of this outlined already. The outline is actually taking a bit longer to write than I thought it would (more words, not more time!). I’m making Main Character and The Prince have a few more interactions, and he’s mellowing out, which will be great for the little turning point I have coming up at the end of this chapter. I also actually liked bits of what I wrote today, which is always a plus. I’m not saying it won’t be tweaked, but here’s a tiny scene from today. A major problem with this is that the characters are too familiar for the limited interaction they’ve actually had, which means that this might be placed later in the story than I’m currently planning.

She smiled and bobbed a curtsey. “Prince Dagan, what a surprise.”

            He stepped forward and took her arm in his. It wasn’t an invitation, and though she was frustrated with the treatment, Lydia did not protest as he dragged her down the hall and up another, with Valerian following silently behind, his hand on the hilt of his sword.

            “What were you doing there?” Dagan hissed.

            Lydia had never heard him so angry and found that she was pleased with herself for doing something to break through his friendly, detached mask. “I was admiring the grandfather clock. The blue stone of the face has a picture in it, doesn’t it? How—”

            Prince Dagan pulled her into a room and Valerian closed the door softly behind him. It was the same room Lydia had walked through to get to the balcony on her first day. She noticed that a different book sat on the chair and the mug of tea was steaming rather than cold. Prince Dagan let her go and she stood, straightening her sleeves.

            “You were outside the room where a Tohmrin meeting was taking place,” Prince Dagan said.

            Lydia raised one eyebrow. “And how was I meant to know that? I was simply exploring.”

            “Unaccompanied,” Prince Dagan said. It sounded as though he was accusing her.

            “Perhaps if I’d had the pleasure of your company, that would not have been the case,” Lydia countered, crossing her arms. He opened his mouth to argue, but she cut him off. “If you are going to suggest that I take a servant with me everywhere I go, you are going to be disappointed. Women of Beldale are allowed to go wherever they like, whenever they like. That is something to which you will need to grow accustomed.”

            “This is not Beldale,” Prince Dagan said. “That is something to which you will have to grow accustomed.”

            Somewhere behind them, Valerian coughed. She couldn’t tell if he was warning one or the other of them to back down, so she looked Prince Dagan in the eye and said, “Perhaps if I was not surrounded by all things Beldalian, that is something to which I could grow accustomed. For now, though, while you insist on wearing Beldalian clothes, and playing Beldalian music, and practicing Beldalian art forms, and serving Beldalian food, I will act as I like, just as I always have.”

How many words did you write today? 2224
How long did it take you to write them? Quite a while–the first bit took maybe two hours (that was catching up to today’s goal) and then I wrote another 1000 words in another few hours late at night.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Too many to count, until internet stopped working again. (Then Cal fixed it!)
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0!
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? Three or four today, I feel really bad about it actually.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Nothing in particular… peace of mind? I was actually using NaNo to procrastinate on other, more hard-deadline-y sort of projects.
Cups of Tea: 0
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? Oh god. I had one little chocolate egg, part of a big chocolate egg, and a number of pixie stix, gumballs, pop rocks, and sherbet powder… This probably explains why I’m not tired right now.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 16061 (how could I not stop at such a cool number?)
Words to Goal: 33939
Days Remaining: 21

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

