Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Ten

10 Apr

Image

Write or Die Session #1 
605 words in 16 minutes.
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Write or Die Session #2
584 words in…forgot to check minutes!
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Write or Die Session #3
552 words in 14 minutes.
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

As you can see, today was pretty write-or-die-tastic. It’s  a new word. Underused. Anyway. I really got into it today–I couldn’t believe it when I looked at word count and I’d written over 2000 words! I’m now exactly a day ahead, which is where I wanted to be. Tomorrow is Thursday, the only day I work full-time, so having that safety net in case I’m exhausted really eases my mind. It actually will make it easier to write tomorrow, if you’ll believe it–I’ll just be so much less stressed out thinking I need to get it done that it’ll be easier to let the words roll off my fingers.

Today was another one of those “get things done” days, too. I think I need to have more of these. I planned the day out the night before with a to-do list and it’s so much easier to accomplish everything when I’m thinking about what I need to do! I finished NaNo word count by 10 a.m., plus wrote a 1000 word article for Today I Found Out, made dinner (in a slow cooker), washed and folded two loads of laundry, tidied the room, and made the bed by 1:00. Then I felt so accomplished that I wrote some more! Which is where the 2000 words comes in.

I was going to add a “favorite sentence of the day” which I saw on someone else’s blog, but  I couldn’t pick. So I thought I’d throw in a “favorite impromptu concept.” Today I created a special flower that smells different to different people at different times, and leads the sniffer to places important to them at their current stage in their journey. In Main Character’s case, it led her to a bakery which she will later discover is the meeting place for an anti-monarchy group, led by none other than the father of Man She Will Argue With For The Rest Of Time.

How many words did you write today? 2364
How long did it take you to write them? An hour and a half? I breezed through, it was a great day.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Only one between each of the write or die sessions. Perhaps a few more on the side.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 0! But I’ve got a massive riot in the next scene, so, you know. Watch out.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? Two today.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? The feeling of being productive. It’s a great feeling.
Cups of Tea: 1
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? Half a chocolate egg and a sherbet thing. And I’m eyeing those pixie stix.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 18425
Words to Goal: 31575
Days Remaining: 20

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

2 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Ten”

  1. J.R. Hall April 11, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    I need to try the write-or-die approach. I’ve heard a lot about it, and it might be worth checking it out.
    Word count as of yesterday – 16,741
    Characters killed yesterday- 1

    • inkhearted April 11, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

      Write or Die is a fantastic resource. It’s saved my NaNo word count many a time! If I’m feeling particularly dangerous I’ll set it to “kamikaze” mode which will start deleting words if you don’t keep writing. Nothing more encouraging than that!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

