Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Thirteen

13 Apr

Image

Today I wrote part of that long-put off mob scene. You see, I am horrible at writing action scenes and I know it. I need to practice them more, and I’ve outlined several more action scenes for this novel than were in my last. Unfortunately for this one in particular, I didn’t really think about the ins and outs of the whole thing and who would be where and what was happening and when it would happen, so I started off a bit slow and it’s a really clunky read. But it’s written, and that’s what matters. May is for editing.

Does anyone else have a specific element of story writing that they struggle with? I’m not saying that action scenes are my only problem, but I’d say they’re a pretty big one. I never can get the dynamics straight! What’s your big issue, or what issue are you dealing with at this point in your novel?

Anyway, I managed to go over word count today and write an article for Today I Found Out besides (though that one ended up being slightly short… ah, well). I had time to do a second one but it was a pretty rainy Saturday so I ended up being lazy and snuggling with the cat instead. Now I’m off to read before my eyelids droop too much. And tomorrow is another day. I’m aiming to hit the 25k mark a day early!

How many words did you write today? 2299
How long did it take you to write them? Just over an hour.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  So many–and not just FB this time, but WordPress, Twitter, YouTube, Hotmail. It was a mess.
How many characters have you killed off to date? 1 is in serious condition, 1 has a broken wrist, 1 got cut up pretty badly but is on the mend, and several unnamed individuals died.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? None today!
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Being lazy. It was pretty nice.
Cups of Tea: o, though it was so rainy it was perfect weather for it. I don’t know what’s wrong with me.
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? Two pixie stix.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 22,634
Words to Goal: 27,366
Days Remaining: 17

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

2 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Thirteen”

  1. Creative Mysteries April 13, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Crime scenes and killing off characters. I struggle with crime scenes and I can’t seem to kill characters in a way that seems realistic.

    I’d like to use this survey for my blog, if you don’t mind?

    • inkhearted April 13, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      Go for it! I’d love to see it used elsewhere. 🙂 And yeah, killing off characters is pretty rough too. I know what you mean about finding a realistic way to do it, whenever I try it always seems sort of cheesy.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

