Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Fifteen

15 Apr

Image

Today was AWFUL, you guys. I woke up at a reasonable hour thinking I could get ALL the things done, and I ended up going back to sleep an hour later due to a massive headache (I hate the blame the cat, but he WAS running around being obnoxious). Woke up like three hours later and watched YouTube videos, then had to go out to get a package (which was filled with awesome, reward-worthy goodness) and did some grocery shopping. But sin of all sins, completely forgot about Game of Thrones coming out the day before so I had to watch that. By this time it’s like 5:30 and I started cooking dinner.

I’m not quite sure what happened to the last few hours, but it’s almost 8:30 at the time of writing the beginning of this post, and I still haven’t come close to meeting word count, let alone edited any footage for our daily vlog, or, more importantly, done any writing for TIFO. I was also supposed to go clean for a few hours too (for my nanny job), which I’ve put off to tomorrow. Basically, all around, today is a FAIL.

And I decided I figured out why I was procrastinating so much. I was writing a truly awful scene that wasn’t going well. I’m not sure why I didn’t start writing a new scene to combat the horrible, but whatever, I started to now. (Well, first I wrote a note that said “This is really awful. Edit later. Move on already.”)

Something I’ve found that helps me if I’ve gotten completely stuck is to move on to something completely not outlined. Today I started a scene with MC walking back from meeting a character. This meeting has not been written. I’ve just got her reaction to it, which I hope will later make for an interesting meeting with that character. It opens up all kinds of questions — What happened? Why? Was anyone else there? Some people favor writing stuff chronologically, but I find it really can help to write something you feel like writing, and then have to write what happened to get to that point.

I’ve now–finishing this day’s word count at 11pm — finally gotten to a point where I’m locking the characters in a room together and forcing them to talk. That will be tomorrow’s word count. I’m hoping it will bring some greater knowledge of the characters and how they mean to continue. Here’s hoping, anyway.

How many words did you write today? 1656
How long did it take you to write them? Four hours or so, not focusing on it at all.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Too many.
How many characters have you killed off to date? Two now–that person from a few days ago, and a servant who was caught with a book written in an illegal language.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? None today.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Feeling a sense of accomplishment for the day, since I didn’t do anything else!
Cups of Tea: One which I forgot about… but I remembered it before it turned too cold.
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? Two chocolate hearts and a candy bracelet, sent from the awesome Sarah!
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 25,188
Words to Goal: 24,812
Days Remaining: 15

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

