Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Sixteen

16 Apr

Image

Ahhhh… that feeling of bliss when something gets accomplished! After days of feeling like I’d been putting things off, I finally a) finished my word count for the day by 10 a.m., b) cleaned Alex’s house, and c) wrote another article for Today I Found Out. And if I write another of those tomorrow, and another on Friday, I’ll be completely caught up and only have two more to do for the whole month. But this post isn’t about that. It’s about NaNo. Right.

Like I said yesterday, I decided to throw my characters into a room together and make them talk. It yielded some good get-to-know-my-characters results, even if the results were rambly and probably won’t be used in the finished product when I finally get around to editing it. Still, sometimes scenes like that are nice, particularly when traipsing around a world with characters that you don’t know very well.

The remainder of this evening, I’ve been attempting to figure out my next problem: due to the flashback I wrote previously, this novel has taken a very political turn which I think is for the better. If I can do the thing properly I think it might be more interesting than the original plan. It’s just that when the country in question believes a woman’s place is in the kitchen and a man’s in the throne room, and your main character is a woman (albeit a noble one), it can be a bit difficult for her to become aware of all the political happenings, even if it’s crucial that she is.

She’s quite clever, so I’ve been thinking about her hiring some spies or something, but each scenario that runs through my head seems like something I’ve read before or too cliche to use. If anyone has any suggestions about how a young woman could learn her fill of political happenings in a sort of Roman time setting, I’d love to hear them!

Tomorrow I’m hoping to get more-than-caught-up again. If Thursday is anything like last Thursday, I’m going to need those extra words!

How many words did you write today? 1538
How long did it take you to write them? An hour and ten minutes
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  None while writing today–yay!
How many characters have you killed off to date? None today.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? One today.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Watching a few daily vlogs… the Saccone-Jolys and DailyBumps are just so addicting!
Cups of Tea: None. Weird. I was thinking about having one when I got back from work, alas…
How any pieces of chocolate were consumed? None. I was so good today.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 26,726
Words to Goal: 23,274
Days Remaining: 14

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

One Response to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Sixteen”

  1. Jess April 17, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    You’re doing great! You seem to be right on schedule. I am so jealous you are doing the camp. I will try one of these months.Good luck and congrats on your great, focused day!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

