Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Eighteen

18 Apr

Image

I know this beginning bit has turned into more of a journal than about my novel, but I feel like it all connects. To give you an idea about how my day went: last night I barely slept, and when I did sleep I dreamed about being late to work (including one heinous one where I had to take an airplane to work but it was late because it went through Chicago). Plus the cat woke me up twice. Then I ran around after an exceptionally hyper two-year-old all day, who had an exceptionally short nap, and sort of plodded home where all I wanted to do was collapse on the couch and not get up again for three days.

Alas: NaNo calls. So, I think it speaks of some sort of hidden masochist within me that I sat down to type, bleary-eyed and nodding off… when, out of nowhere, a new character appears! And she’s interesting! And she wants to teach MC stuff! And she can bake! And she knows all about the hidden culture that… that…

Oh god, I need to think up a culture. I almost did then. Before the sane part of myself that was still sort of awake was like, “Wait! No! Stop! Not now! What has been done in a state of sleep-drunk cannot be undone! WAAAAIIIIT.”

And luckily, right around then, two things happened: 1) I reached 30k, and 2) my wonderful husband announced that he had drawn me a deliciously warm bath, and he demanded that I get in it right that second.

While that should have revived me, instead I find my legs can no longer support my weight and I sat down to type this before I went to bed. Actually, before I got even more sleep-drunk. (PSA: sleep-drunk is what I call the state of mind when you are too exhausted to think clearly. No alcohol has been consumed.)

And now this has gone on quite long enough, I think. I have presented my quandary of tomorrow and hey look! A wild excerpt appears! You see, it’s funny because the Prince doesn’t like her at all and… yeah, okay, I need sleep.

Whatever the case, Trim stood hesitantly outside Lydia’s changing room the next morning and said, “There is a place that I would like to show you, if you think that the Prince can do without your company for a few hours.”

            “I’m sure he will be inconsolable,” Lydia answered, stuffing her arms into the loose sleeves of her gown. “However, a man must learn that a woman cannot be there for him night and day. I would love to journey with you wherever you might take me.”

How many words did you write today? 1599
How long did it take you to write them? Something like two hours. Maybe two and a half.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Twoish.
How many characters have you killed off to date? One today, which I think brings the total up to three. And we’re only 3/5 of the way through!
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? Two today. 😦 I’m sorry, angels.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Bath+Sleep. Much needed. Desperately.
Cups of Tea: None. I probably could have used one.
How many pieces of chocolate were consumed? 1 sherbet powder thing… um… so, I bought my brother a bunch of Cadbury chocolate to send to him for an exam care package (which is now having to go to my dad instead because of the time it takes to get there) and I haven’t yet, but I have totally been eyeing that Boost bar something fierce. I need to send that off. But I could always buy another one tomorrow…
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 30,037
Words to Goal: 19,963
Days Remaining: 12

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

