Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Twenty-Three

23 Apr

Image

Write or Die Session #1:
613 words in 11 minutes
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Write or Die Session #2:
630 words in 10 minutes
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Write or Die Session #3:
697 words in 12 minutes
Normal, strict, 500-word goal.

Today I wanted to quit. Today I allowed every stressful thing in my life to catch up to me, from writing NaNo to my visa application to thinking about what to have for dinner and everything in between. I have been going crazy attempting to keep everything in my head and having reached a point in my novel where I have to ask what’s happening next, and I’m writing things I know won’t be included in a rambly sort of way just for the word count, I was like, “Why am I even doing this? Why don’t I just stop?”

And my husband said I can’t stop because I’m going to be more stressed out at the thought of not finishing than I am about actually completing it. It doesn’t even take that much time when I  do Write or Die! I just keep dreading it.

I once listened to an author speak at a bookstore where I was working one summer. I can’t remember who it was–we had an author in each week for three or four months during the tourism season–but he was talking about his writing process and how he would reach a point where he just didn’t want to do it anymore. His characters didn’t know who they were or what they were doing, his plot was laying in pieces on the floor, every word he set down on paper sounded like trash. So he called up his agent and told her he was quitting, and his agent said, “Oh, good, you’re at that stage, are you? I sense another bestseller.”

Apparently this happened to this author an awful lot, and usually the novels that he hated the most were the ones that shot to the top because he had to put a lot of work into those novels. I assume that the agent ended up talking him through his problems and convincing him that he was not crap. Anyway, I don’t have an agent, but I am at That Point, so thinking about that story helped me feel better. Maybe it helped you feel better, too.

How many words did you write today? 2037
How long did it take you to write them? 33 minutes
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  One
How many characters have you killed off to date? None, I wrote some stuff that came before the big ol’ mob thing I was writing yesterday.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? None today again! Three days in a row.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Finishing another TIFO article. Then maybe a nap.
Cups of Tea: One
How many pieces of chocolate were consumed? Some white chocolate and a few ANZAC biscuits.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 39,042
Words to Goal: 10,958
Days Remaining: 7

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

4 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Twenty-Three”

  1. Creative Mysteries April 23, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    Looks like the write-or-die sessions are working good for you. I understand how it feels to write words just to meet the word count. It kind of makes me want to just stop too. I’m sure you can finish though. Good luck 🙂

    • inkhearted April 24, 2013 at 9:57 am #

      Thanks!! Write or Die is working wonders. I’m still just rambling in my write or die sessions, but whatever works, right?? 😉

      • Creative Mysteries April 24, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

        Sure! Did you come up with the write or die sessions? It sounds much more fun than word sprints. 🙂

      • inkhearted April 25, 2013 at 5:25 am #

        I think I saw someone else doing them first and jumped on the Write or Die train. They are so useful, and definitely help me a lot more than word sprints!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

