Beyond Camp NaNoWriMo: A Question For My Readers

29 Apr

Previous to April, I was having some trouble maintaining regular posts on the blog largely because I couldn’t think about what to write about. It was hard for me to think up something on the spot. Having April’s structure has really helped me keep on track (save for the last few days when I’ve felt like I’ve been on my deathbed–seriously, is it possible to contract Man Flu if you’re a woman? Because I think I might have it.)

Anyway, I thought I would give myself some structure for the next few months and see if it helps me keep up with the blog. Below is my proposed schedule:

Novel Mondays – talking about what’s happening with my current or previous projects, which will also require me actually working on the projects once April is done.

Review Wednesdays – book reviews mostly, perhaps with some travel reviews thrown in. This will also serve to keep me on track for my 2013 Book Reading Goal of 52 books in a year.

Freelance Fridays – This goes along with my new plan for the upcoming months. I’ve started freelancing for a few sites, and I’m planning on using Fridays to dedicate solely to working on Freelance projects as though I was going to the office. At the moment, this means two 1000-word articles each Friday, which, if I stop going on FB so much, should mean I get them done in a morning. Afternoons will then be dedicated to searching out more Freelance jobs and writing a blog post about tips/struggles/projects/etc.

But that leaves FOUR days of the week that aren’t covered. So, now that I’ve gathered a few followers from doing those Camp NaNoWriMo posts, I wanted to ask: what interests you? What would you like to see on the blog? What would you find helpful or entertaining? What do you wish someone would write about (preferably that fits into my read/write/travel theme!) that you haven’t seen yet?

I have a few extra ideas that I can use if no one has anything else they’d like to see, but I thought I’d see what you guys come up with!

Now, back to NaNo… 4000 words to go…

4 Responses to “Beyond Camp NaNoWriMo: A Question For My Readers”

  1. Gwen April 29, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Just my opinion, but maybe start with just Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Posting every day of the week could become a grind, and you don’t want to become a slave to the blog.

    • inkhearted May 9, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      Thanks for your suggestion! A few of my friends are doing a blog post every day, so I was hoping to join in–but I actually took your advice for now, which is probably for the best. I think I would be stressing myself out too much right now trying to post every day. Three a week is plenty, you’re right!

      • Gwen May 9, 2013 at 11:19 am #

        Glad to help!

  2. Creative Mysteries April 29, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    I’m interested in the Freelance Fridays posts. I’ve freelanced for a few websites but I hope to learn more tips. It would be interesting to learn how the read/write/travel theme fits into freelancing.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

