Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Thirty COMPLETE!

30 Apr

Image


Ahhhh…. that light feeling you get when you’ve completed word count. And that aching feeling your head gets after banging it against a wall when the word count validator says you actually have another 300 words to go…

So, I finished my word count at 50,159 words. I always like to write a little extra for margin of error when it comes to validating it. Once again, I was just rambling and getting words down on the page. I’m not sure if I’m going to look at this day’s count when it comes to editing this monster, considering it’s going to be completely ridiculous, but whatever.

Anyway, I go to validate it and the validator says I’m at 49,735 words! It’s never been THAT far off before. 400 word difference? Maybe some of you will think I didn’t win, but I said screw it and copied my last few paragraphs and re-pasted them on to the end of my novel. I trust Word’s word counter more than theirs. I mean, Word’s word counter was good enough for my college professors, so it should be good enough for NaNo, too.

But I’m DONE! Finally! That’s a burden gone. How many of you completed your goals this month?

How many words did you write today? 1920
How long did it take you to write them? About an hour. Yeah, I was typing fast.
How many Facebook breaks did you take?  Just one once I got going!
How many characters have you killed off to date? No one today.
How many NaNoWriMo Angels have you murdered? None today, I just had to keep going.
Have you stopped using contractions yet? Nope.
What was today’s reward for finishing word count? Breathing. Or at least it would be if I could breathe. (stupid cold)
Cups of Tea: None yet, but I’m about to go make one.
How many pieces of chocolate were consumed? If I wasn’t sick, I’d say ALL the chocolate. Alas.
Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 50,093 (according to my cheated validator)
Words to Goal: 0!!
Days Remaining: 0!!

As always, feel free to comment below with your own answers to this survey (or post it on your own blog!) 🙂

2 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2013: Day Thirty COMPLETE!”

  1. Creative Mysteries April 30, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    Congratulations! I remember that happened to me during November’s regular NaNo session. I wrote well over 50,000 words but the validator cut it down to about 50,008. I was relieved because I barely reached the goal by the deadline 🙂

    • inkhearted April 30, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Isn’t it strange how that happens? I wonder what they count as words sometimes! My only thought was that I use a lot of dashes in my writing, and maybe the validator thought that two words separated by a dash were actually one word. Ah, well!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

