More Excuses–and apologies!

8 May

After almost two weeks of Epic Cold of Doom, I am finally–FINALLY–feeling almost normal. Maybe not 100%, but I’d say 90% is still pretty good.

It used to be that I would never consider a cold to be a reason to get in the way of anything. I once attended high school classes with a mild fever because we had an exam that day and I simply could not miss it. The exam was in AP Calculus, granted, and the teacher was extremely adamant about being in class and hated that I had two days off to participate in Youth In Government, which is a perfectly legitimate and school-certified excuse–but I digress.

This has been like the king of all colds. People should write songs about it. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been sick so often in the past year and things are finally starting to take a toll, but I was practically bedridden for at least a week, and the past week I haven’t been up to much, either. And like I said, I’m not one to let sickness get in the way of much. It’s just that you can’t do much when you’re sleeping for a solid three hours every day, followed by a solid 12 hours every night!

Anyway. All I have left is a persistent cough and a stuffy nose in the morning, so I think it’s about time I caught up. I have roughly a million awards I’ve been given by you lovely readers and I intend to catch up on all of them, don’t worry! I’ll also be starting up on my weekly posts again, starting with today… even though I don’t have anything to review!

Which brings me to the list of Things I Didn’t Do, also known as the List of Shame:

1. I’ve barely read anything. This is partially due to all the sleeping, and partially due to continuously diving into books I haven’t been liking. I really want a fluffy fantasy book but don’t have any out from the library. I started reading “Witchstruck” which Cal accidentally returned to the library (no fault of his–it should have been in my bag that day!) and I wasn’t really into it to be honest, and then I started reading “Brimstone” which has just been awful… I might do a mini-review of the 50 pages I struggled through for today.

2. YouTube completely fell by the wayside. If you don’t know, my husband and I have been doing daily vlogs since the beginning of April, but the past week and a bit we just left it off. It’s too much work for just one person, and I wasn’t up to much. So we’ve started those back up again! (If you’re interested, you can find a link under the “YouTube” page at the top.)

3. Completely neglected this blog, like I said. May this post be the first of many more today!

4. I wrote very little after NaNo, but I did do a bit of world building which I intend to work on more today. More on that on Novel Monday!

5. My very first “Freelance Friday” became “lay in bed all day with a headache” so instead of two articles on Friday, I wrote one article on Saturday. I’m not “behind” as such, but… I’m behind. I also need to look into getting more freelance jobs–luckily, my husband got a new, better paying, closer job which means I can focus most of my energies on freelancing vs. applying for admin jobs I don’t actually want. Also, he won’t be here on Fridays anymore… which makes it easier for me to get stuff done!

Anyway. I hope you all accept my most profound apologies–especially those of you who nominated me for awards. I promise I’m not ignoring you! I’ll get a few of those award posts up this afternoon. Thanks for reading!

3 Responses to “More Excuses–and apologies!”

  1. Creative Mysteries May 8, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    Wow, that cold really hit you hard 😦 I don’t usually let sickness get the best of me either but as you get older, it takes its toll harder.

    Best of luck getting back into the swing of things!

    • inkhearted May 9, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      That must be it! I’m getting ancient. 😉 My friends and I always joke about how “old” we are. This proves it. Thank you so much for your sympathy–as of writing this, I’m pretty much 100%, so hopefully everything gets rolling again soon!

      • Creative Mysteries May 9, 2013 at 11:47 am #

        Glad to hear! I can’t stand catching a cold, especially when the congestion sinks in. There’s nothing like trying to sleep and breathing through your mouth.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

