The Reason I Haven’t Blogged In A Few Days

27 May

I’ve been obsessed. Yes, obsessed.

With kittens.

We have a cat, but we’ve been thinking about getting a kitten for ages. Actually, the original plan YEARS ago was to get two kittens when I moved over here. But then there were floods in 2011 and the RSPCA building went under and it was desperate for adoptions–so Cal got Thor.

Image

Then when I arrived last June, we weren’t really financially ready for a kitten. By the time we were financially ready, we were both facing unemployment and, well, I think I’ve discussed the long hard slog we went through to find jobs. Now Cal’s employed full-time and I’ve been making the equivalent of part-time wages for freelancing, so… kittens.

I’ve been staring at pictures of kittens online for days. On Friday my obsession reached a point where I didn’t finish my two articles for Freelance Friday, let alone a blog post. I haven’t been reading or writing. I’ve just been staring at pictures of kittens and watching them disappear as they’re adopted and…

Well… Saturday it was just too much. So. We got a kitten.

017

His name is Loki. Yes, he is this adorable. Thor doesn’t like him much yet, but we hope they’ll become good friends. Loki has developed an obsession with a toy fishing pole/mouse thing and just wants to play play play play play.

Plus, we have to keep him in our room so that he doesn’t annoy Thor, and the internet is STILL not working in my room (very miffed about this). So it’s a great struggle between kitten and net, and, well, I bet you can guess who wins.

So this is my cute excuse. I don’t even feel guilty about it.

2 Responses to “The Reason I Haven’t Blogged In A Few Days”

  1. rarasaur May 27, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    How could you feel guilty when looking at that adorable face? πŸ™‚ I love the pictures, and the name. πŸ˜€ Welcome, Loki!

  2. Creative Mysteries May 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    I’ve loved cats and kittens since I was a kid. I wish my landlord would allow pets but for now, I’m okay looking at pictures of cats around WordPress πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

