Prompt: My Name

28 May

The Lissa Chronicles posted an awesome prompt about “your name.” I love names, so I thought, why not?

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself? Photographers, show us YOU.

Image

My name is Emily. I’m not named after anyone, though I was once told–after pestering my parents one time too often–that I was named after Emily Elizabeth from the Clifford books. I think the more likely story is that my mom saw a name she liked and gave it to me without any real associations.

My middle name is Marie, which is one of those “filler” middle names. I feel like everyone I meet has Marie as a middle name. However, Marie is actually a family name. I’m the third generation with the middle name Marie, and my great-grandma’s first name is Marie. My mom felt pressured into giving me this middle name as she didn’t like the flow of it with “Emily” because of the -ie sound at the end of both names, but she caved.

I like the sound of my name and I think Emily suits me. What I don’t like (okay, understatement: more like “despise”) is how popular it is! A few years after I was born, Emily soared to the #1 girl’s name in the U.S. and stayed there for eleven years. It’s still in the top ten. Funnily enough, I never had an issue with it in school. I remember there was one other Emily in latch key in elementary school and I had an Emily in one of my classes in high school. However, when I went to university there were something like 20 Emilys at the university (out of ~750 students). I worked with one of them and another was in my same two majors–English and History–so we saw a lot of each other. I would say a majority of my classes had another Emily in them. I also currently live in a house where 3/5 inhabitants are named Emily. (Fun fact: in university, I was Emily Two. Of my two closest Emily friends, there was Emily One and Emily Junior. Our designations were based on age.)

It’s not so bad, really, but it’s given me a taste for more unique names. I don’t know what I’d rename myself if I could. I love a lot of names (check out my favorite names here!), but I can’t think of another that suits me. Not that it matters–in the end, I wouldn’t actually change it, despite its popularity!

Answer the questions above! I’d love to see your answers.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

