Where to Buy Salsa Verde and Tomatillos in Brisbane, Australia

14 Sep

This is completely off my usual topics, but I just can’t keep this to myself. 011

If you’re an American in Australia, you know the difficulties of attempting to find some of your favorite Mexican or Tex-Mex items and ingredients. Honestly, the scarcity of Mexican food is my only complaint about Australia–and can you really blame them? It’s not like Mexico’s just across the way. However, having read through a lot of forums and blogs, I know that being able to indulge in some old favorite foods can help alleviate home sickness. It certainly does for me.

My addiction? Salsa verde. I’ve been eating it since I could walk–they serve it at my favorite Mexican (okay, “Tex-Mex”–as much as it can be in Michigan) restaurant in my hometown, and it’s to die for. Theirs is still my favorite salsa verde, but Herdez is a close second. You can’t get salsa verde here in Australia, at least not at the major stores. Woolworth’s very briefly had some green salsa a few months ago, but it’s disappeared again–not enough demand, I suppose.

So imagine my surprise when I walked into a little shop called Pennisi Cuisine in Woolloongabba. The place is stuffed to the ceiling with tons of Mexican ingredients: canned whole tomatillos, pinto beans, black beans, different salsas, tobasco sauce,  jalepenos, and, yes, even little 7oz. cans of Herdez Salsa Verde!

Besides that, they have tons of Italian and various other cuisine as well, including a huge selection of cheese, pasta, and various meats (American-style bacon, anyone?), DILL PICKLES, and tons of different drinks (like San Pellegrino). I’m telling you, it’s a dream come true for anyone in Brisbane looking for some great international food products.

Here’s the address if you’re interested:

Pennisi Cuisine
17 Balaclava Street
Woollongabba

The street’s a bit quiet, but you’ll know the shop when you see it. Having gone there on a Saturday, it was incredibly busy with tons of people, but checking out was fast and efficient and the workers were extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for green salsa and other hard-to-find Mexican items. If you were wondering where to buy the ingredients for your Mexican food fix, this is it. Needless to say, I’ll be going back for as long as I’m living here!

If you’re not from Brisbane, I recommend poking around the internet for a while to find out of there’s one of these small specialty shops in your city. It seems to be the best bet for your Mexican food needs.

If you know of any other places in Brisbane or other Australian cities that sell Mexican ingredients like tomatillos and salsa verde, please leave that information in the comments below–I’d love to hear about them, and I’m sure others would too!

6 Responses to “Where to Buy Salsa Verde and Tomatillos in Brisbane, Australia”

  1. Yvonne Hughes October 25, 2014 at 10:04 am #

    Hi, I’ve found an online store based in Sydney where you can buy all your mexican desires: http://www.montereyfoods.com.au/home.php
    Cheers, Yvonne Hughes

  2. Ali November 23, 2015 at 11:07 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I bought a Mexican cook book recently and it’s been a nightmare trying to make the recipes without substituting half of the ingredients. I didn’t think googling ‘Where to buy tomatillos in Brisbane’ would yield any results but here you are 😀

  3. C December 8, 2015 at 7:31 am #

    You can also get chipotle and a few other Mexican ingredients in the African grocery stores on the Main Street at Moorooka. Hope that helps 🙂

    • inkhearted December 18, 2015 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll have to go check them out.

  4. Irene February 14, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    Hi, thanks for your informative blog. I am Mexican American (texmex) and was raised on everything mexican you can name. I just moved to the Gold Coast from Los Angeles and I’m finding it hard to come by the food products I used at home. Coles and Woolworth don’t have a variety of Mexican products which is frustrating but there isn’t a high demand for such items. I’ll definitely be visiting the store you mentioned. I too love salsa verde! I’ll keep you posted if I come across mexican products.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

