The (Almost) Six-Month Australia Onshore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update

17 Sep

I love WordPress for telling me the search terms people used to find this blog. I’ve been getting hits like “waiting for Australia partner visa” and “how long does it take for an Australian partner visa to process” and “waiting for my partner visa is driving me mad.”

I’m right there with you.

It’s this maddening feeling of something being left unfinished. Like you’re hanging in limbo, neither here nor there. If you’re in Australia like me, you might even be beginning to feel that itch of suffocating imprisonment–Bridging Visa A doesn’t allow for travel outside of the country. What can you do? You twiddle your thumbs and wait.

For me, I know that I can’t even get accepted yet. A) My medicals have not been completed. I was worried about the length of time people were saying things were going to take, and medicals were only good for a year and they were expensive. So I’m waiting until my as-yet-unknown case officer contacts me asking for them. B) My police checks aren’t in yet. Well, I have the Australian one in my hot little hands but the FBI one still hasn’t come through. I submitted the request at the tail end of April. Yes, I have finally given up on them. I’m going to get my fingerprints redone next Tuesday and send them off AGAIN. It’s my hope that submitting the police checks will spark a response from the Mysterious Unknown Case Officer and I’ll get my medicals completed by the end of the year.

Actually, it’s our one-year wedding anniversary at the end of November–wouldn’t it be perfect timing if everything started coming together around then? I live in hope.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to keep my mind off of it. Worrying, worrying, worrying is just bad for your health. Honestly, that’s probably why I’ve been leaving the new fingerprints so late–I let them slip my mind so that the constant butterflies in my stomach would just go away. It helps that I’ve been keeping busy: work, going out and about a bit more often than usual, baking, playing with the cats. My advice? Find something you like and go do it and stop worrying about the visa. Easier said than done, of course, but honestly, there’s nothing you can do until you get contacted by the case officer.

One of the other things that I’ve found that helps with the wait is finding forums online that are filled with other people waiting for news of their visa just like you. Search “Australia visa forum” and you should find something that suits you. There are quite a few different options out there.

To those of you reading this blog post, I’d love to know how long you’ve been waiting and what you do to keep calm during the wait. If you’d like, including the city where you lodged the visa and the month/year you lodged it in, as well as the type of visa you’ve applied for, to give other people reading this blog a better idea of what the can expect regarding visa waiting times. I would love to hear from you.

As for myself, you can always find my “visa status” at the top of this page and to the right. To recap, though, I applied for an 820 visa in Brisbane back in March 2013. I haven’t had any contact from Immigration save for the e-mail telling me about my Bridging Visa just after I sent in the application.

And the wait continues.

How long have you been waiting for a decision to be made on your application? How do you deal with the long wait? Let me know in the comments below! If you would like more information on my visa journey, check out the following links:

9 Responses to “The (Almost) Six-Month Australia Onshore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 820 Visa Update: Request for More Information | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  2. Things We Included in Our Australian Partner Visa (820) | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  3. The True Cost of an Australian Partner Visa (820) | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  4. 820 Visa Not-Really Update (and US Police Check drama) | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  5. FBI Police Check Update! | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  6. 820 Visa Applicants: Did you know you can enrol in Medicare? | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

  7. Australian Onshore Partner Visa 820 GRANTED! | More Than One Page - January 6, 2014

    […] The (Almost) Six-Month Australia Partner Visa 820 Waiting Update […]

  8. Australian Partner Visa Cover Letter Sample | More Than One Page - January 17, 2014

    […] The (Almost) Six-Month Australia Partner Visa 820 Waiting Update […]

  9. Things We Included In Our Second Stage Australian Partner Visa (801) Application | More Than One Page - April 4, 2015

    […] The (Almost) 6-Month Australia On-Shore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

