Introduce Your NaNoWriMo Novel! (aka, how prepared are you?)

30 Oct

ImageI had grand plans for October. Not only was I going to get my articles done on time, but I was going to make some headway towards my articles due at the end of November, too. I was going to be a writing machine, forging a path towards NaNo Greatness with all the time in the world to write my novel.

Yeah, right.

Tomorrow is October 31 and I still have one more October article to finish. Never mind the November articles I never even started. Ha! I probably could have finished that last article tonight, too, but I am burnt out creatively. I keep complaining that “I hate writing” and “why do I continue to do this to myself.” Honestly, I think every writer reaches that point in their lives. It usually coincides with a due date.

I keep thinking about Friday, a mere 27 hours away here in Australia, and want to bury myself in a pillow fort until NaNo Season 2014 rolls around. Of course this is the year I chose to write a novel that, if done well, needs heaps of research. I’ve barely researched anything. What sort of mattresses did they have in 1773? What did they use to brush their teeth? What kind of poisons native to the Americas would kill a man if placed in his evening cup of tea? And just what is the point of this novel, anyway?

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m planning on doing an extended NaNo-like marathon that covers 85,000 words and 3 months. So perhaps the pressure isn’t on so much. And yet I can’t help but feel that pull, that irresistible tug that tells me I need to complete 50,000 words in November. The pressure of so many completed NaNos is on, and there’s this whisper in my ear that says, “It’ll make December and January easy–15,000 a month is nothing!”

Whatever I decide to do, I still feel woefully unprepared. I think I’m just going to have to say “whatever.” That’s what NaNo is for, right?

I’m planning on doing the same thing I did for Camp NaNoWriMo back in April: status updates! I hope some of you will join me in this, as I loved seeing your updates as well. I’ve switched up my survey a little bit in order to suit this month’s novel. Feel free to use this survey or the last one (found by clicking the above link), or make up your own questions tailored to your novel and your NaNo journey!

1. How many words did you write today?
2. How long did it take you to write them?
3. How many times did you use Write or Die?
4. What is the most interesting thing you researched for the sake of plot today?
5. What didn’t you research today that you probably should have?
6. What unexpected turn did your novel take today?
7. Best/Funniest novel moment today?
8. Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far:
9. Words Remaining:
10. Days Left:
11. Today’s Excerpt:

As I said last time, this has the potential to evolve over the course of the month (or months). I’ll be posting one update every day when I finish my word count–fingers crossed! My main goal this time around is to post an excerpt every day, no matter how horrible. We’ll see what my confidence does as the month goes on.

Now for the fun bit. I’d like you to introduce your novel! That’s right. Let me know what you’re writing this month. They say the hardest part about writing a novel is telling other people what it’s about. Consider this an early pre-NaNo writing exercise. It’ll get your gears turning. As for mine:

The Millerstown Witch is a YA historical fantasy set just before the Revolutionary War in a small town in Massachusetts. Magic is widely known and accepted, but strictly controlled by an association of wizards based in London. When the colonials start experimenting with spells to cure a new illness that’s popped up in the frontier towns, the London association sends in representatives to stop the experimentation by whatever means necessary. Main character Cora Lyons is planted as an assassin in Millerstown, where lives an elusive witch on the brink of a cure, and she’s meant to kill any Londoner who comes to town. Things get complicated when the association representative arrives and she finds out his magical ability is to know when someone is lying, making it difficult to maintain her cover as a simple maid at an inn. Plus, she thinks he knows something that could be useful in driving the association out of the colonies for good, and she’s determined to find out what it is.

Leave your novel’s introduction in the comments below. I can’t wait to read about them!

2 Responses to “Introduce Your NaNoWriMo Novel! (aka, how prepared are you?)”

  1. Creative Mysteries October 30, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    I’m writing a sequel to the novel I started in Camp NaNoWriMo and finished this month. My main character is a detective who is working on an unsolved case that’s bothered him for years. Meanwhile, his partner is working a separate case and both character’s paths cross. The idea is still in development but I’m looking forward to writing the story. It’s going to be fun 🙂

  2. Nikki November 4, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    I like the survey you added for your blog. I might just have to steal that if there’s a day I have nothing to report. Also, thanks for following a fellow Wrimo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

