NaNoWriMo 2013: Day Two

3 Nov

Well, I didn’t actually get anything written today. November 2 happens to be my husband’s birthday, and what a day it was. After he left for work in the morning I went out to get some food for the picnic he didn’t know we were going to have, including Red Velvet cupcake mix (his favorite!). Unfortunately, I didn’t look at the ingredients I needed to make the cupcakes, and it turns out we didn’t have any milk and our eggs were bad.

Why don’t I go get cupcakes from a cake shop? I said to myself. So, after a bit of research I found one that was more or less on the way to his work, where I was planning to show up to surprise him. The buses weren’t great to get there, so I decided to walk from a major bus hub–supposedly only about 20 minutes.

Let’s just say that I was walking for an hour before I wound up by the river having absolutely no idea where I was. Turns out the street I was meant to turn on hadn’t been marked. Rather, as I saw taking a bus back up the giant hill I’d gone down, it WAS marked, but only by a single sign pointing toward the bus on the way back up. That is, I wouldn’t have had a chance of seeing it walking the way I was walking.

So, I was too late for cupcakes. I was too late to meet Cal at work. I was hot, sweaty, tired (I’d carried all the picnic stuff that whole time, including a bottle of water and a bottle of wine). We ended up having a good time when we finally met up, but I was absolutely exhausted by the time we got home. Hashtag excuses?

I’m not too worried about it, though. I only need to write 30,000 words this month to meet my 85,000 word goal by the end of January, so if I don’t catch up to real NaNo word count I’m still on track for my personal goal! Hopefully our anniversary on the 24th doesn’t also get in the way.

I’ll post up Day 3 later, hopefully with some good progress to show after a hard day’s work.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

