NaNoWriMo 2013: Day Four

4 Nov

Image

Well, today was a test. It was the first day of NaNo that I actually had a few articles to write as well. To stay on track, I had to finish two–that’s 2000 non-NaNo words. As I actually get paid to write these, they took precedence over anything else. I finished the first one with some time to spare but got caught up in YouTube (again) and only finished the last one around 9:30 this evening. Granted, I had a lot of cleaning and cat-tending and dinner-cooking in there as well. Ah, the distractions joys of working at home.

Nevertheless, I’m determined not to fall more than a day behind schedule. Therefore, I pushed past the sleepiness and threw something on to the paper. Mostly I’ve been fueled by half a chocolate bar and two cupcakes (having husband’s birthday in November was useful for something!) and I’m on a bit of a sugar high. It occurred to me that adulthood is a wonderful thing. You can stay awake however long you’d like by whatever means necessary, even if you might regret laying on the cream cheese frosting doubly thick later.

I’m honestly not even sure what I wrote today. My apologies.

1. How many words did you write today?  812
2. How long did it take you to write them? About an hour.
3. How many times did you use Write or Die? None.
4. What is the most interesting thing you researched for the sake of plot today? I didn’t research anything today, unless you count my articles! But somehow I don’t think United States massacres in 1968 and 1920 have much at all to do with the American Revolution.
5. What didn’t you research today that you probably should have? Would inns even have chicken coops?
6. What unexpected turn did your novel take today? If I knew what I was writing, I’d tell you.
7. Best/Funniest novel moment today? Throwing MC into a chicken coop which may or may not actually exist in later drafts.
8. Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 5023
9. Words Remaining: 44,977
10. Days Left: 26
11. Today’s Excerpt:

The man must have paid for a fair few nights, or perhaps Mrs. Miller simply didn’t want to confront him again. She walked around in a huff, snapping at bystanders for being idle—even those who didn’t work for her—and grumbling on about men who thought rather too much of themselves and never thanked her for her good cooking. I knew Mrs. Miller was well aware that a lack of compliments was the least of her worries, so I kept quiet.

I’d love to hear about your NaNoWriMo journey! Let me know how you’re doing in the comments below, or use this survey for your own blog and send me a link! I love following fellow Wrimos.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

