NaNoWriMo 2013: Day Five

5 Nov

Image

Remember, remember the fifth of November… because you should be at 8,335 words!

Well, I’m not. Once again, the day did not go as planned. A trip I was expecting to take an hour, maybe two, ended up taking seven. The fortunate thing about this is that all the details will probably be excellent novel fodder one day. Getting lost in a foreign land, taking a chance by jumping on a passing cart, stopping by a pub that looked popular with the locals, counting and recounting your coins to make sure you have enough…

Okay, modernize that a bit but you get the gist.

Normally I’d be sweating it out about how far behind I am, but like I said, I’m really aiming for 30,000 words this month (and the next month… and the next month…) and as I’m a day ahead of THAT goal, I’m feeling pretty good. Well, except that I have no idea where my novel is going and I’m REALLY starting regret not putting more time and effort into the outline and research before this!

1. How many words did you write today?  1002
2. How long did it take you to write them? About an hour.
3. How many times did you use Write or Die? None.
4. What is the most interesting thing you researched for the sake of plot today? I didn’t research anything today… very rushed job.
5. What didn’t you research today that you probably should have? I used “tacks” as markers on a map hanging on a wall. Differently colored tacks. Yeah, I don’t know if tacks were even things back then, let alone with different colors. So… there’s that.
6. What unexpected turn did your novel take today? Mr. Ashley is a messy person. Who knew.
7. Best/Funniest novel moment today? Cora is astounded that Mr. Ashley is a messy person.
8. Total NaNoWriMo Word Count So Far: 6025
9. Words Remaining: 43,975
10. Days Left: 25
11. Today’s Excerpt:

According to Mrs. Miller, Mary lingered too long at the door of Mr. Ashley talking sweetly at the keyhole, so she sent me to take his dinner the next evening. I knocked softly and bent to set the tray on the floor, and was fully unprepared for the response that followed.

“Come in.”

I’d love to hear about your NaNoWriMo journey! Let me know how you’re doing in the comments below, or use this survey for your own blog and send me a link. I love following fellow Wrimos.

One Response to “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day Five”

  1. Kate Kearney November 5, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    You are not alone in wishing you had put more work into an outline. This is the first time I have known where a novel ended, but not know… well, most of the middle. I am trying a normal NaNo and my word count is a bit behind yours. I’m not worried yet, my writing time is now spent figuring out character backgrounds, world building, and putting some strength in my plot. Hopefully, writing will go more quickly once I have a better map. Even if I just know where to write, ‘Here there be Monsters.’

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

