Australian Visa Onshore Medical: My Experience

11 Dec

I haven’t seen many blog posts about the whole medical experience when it comes to applying for an Australian visa onshore. I would have liked to read about other people’s experience because I HATE going to the doctor. I get anxiety about having to step into a doctor’s office–and don’t even start me on needles, let alone getting blood drawn. I know these are all irrational fears but they are fears nonetheless. Even so, my medical experience was a breeze–not bad at all! So if you’re like me and are agonizing over your upcoming medical, perhaps this post will make you worry a bit less.

First of all, my medicals were requested on November 25. I went to the online formย and started filling it out. You can only make your appointment up to two weeks from the current date (so, having made the appointment on November 25, the LATEST I could make my appointment for was December 9). If you make the appointment online, you will pay at the time of booking. My medical, chest x-ray, and blood test cost a total of $353 AUD. Note: you’ll need your HAP ID which will come with the request for more information.

I was happy to see that you are allowed to bring an adult friend/chaperone with you into the medical examination. I tried to get an appointment on a day that my husband was off work so that he could come with me, but was unfortunately unable to do so. Cue additional anxiety. (Again, it wasn’t that bad!)

The site says to call in if you would like to request a female doctor. I am much more comfortable with female doctors, so I did. That said, I didn’t end up getting one (more on this below), and it wasn’t bad at all. However, given that experience, if you need a female doctor as a strong preference or, say, for religious reasons, you will want to be pretty adamant about getting one to ensure your preference is heard.

Fast forward to December 9. My appointment was at 8:45, and they said to arrive at least fifteen minutes before the appointment. I actually got there around 8:15 and just went in. I went to the Brisbane Clinic, which is on Adelaide Street. I’m not sure about other clinics, but this one was set up like this: first, you walk in to a waiting room where you have to take a ticket and sit down. Then, people working at the surrounding desks will call your number. When your number is called, you must present your passport and appointment confirmation. If you have made your appointment online, you will have already paid; if not, you’ll pay at this station. Afterwards, the person will take your picture. Then they will take your passport and documentation and hand it off to a nurse. You will then be sent to a second waiting room.

Note: You no longer need to fill out the health forms if you apply online. All of this is done online.

Now, on my appointment day there was a bit of a hiccup. The computer systems had stopped working, so there was a bit of a back-up of appointments. That said, I don’t know if the next part goes more smoothly usually than it did that day.

First, I was called back by a nurse to get my blood drawn for the HIV test. I had to sign a waiver saying that it was okay for them to release the results to Immigration. Getting blood drawn was the most dreaded bit for me. I have a tendency of fainting around needles, which I told the nurse just in case, but she was very understanding, calm, and kept talking while she attempted to find a vein. Having never gotten my blood drawn before, I wasn’t sure about how it was going to go, but I’d heard stories about people who have to get poked multiple times before they are able to find a good spot to draw. That terrified me. However, she was VERY good about it (perhaps because I told her I was a fainter?) and triple checked before she poked me to ensure she had a good spot. I looked away and she kept talking through it, which kept me a lot calmer than usual and kept my mind off the needle. It was done in seconds, and honestly, I barely felt it. My stomach didn’t even drop like it usually did–score!

After, I was sent straight to the x-ray room to get my chest x-ray. This was probably the most awkward part. I was sent to a little changing room to take off my shirt and bra, and put on the gown that they gave me. The gown was darker in colour but still a little see-through, so I felt SO awkward when I walked into the area with the x-ray to find an older male x-ray technician. After a bit of a chat (with my arms crossed over my chest) he took the x-ray no problem and that was that. Had to remind myself he does dozens of these a day and he’s a professional. Still.

After, I was sent back to that second waiting room for a while before I was called back for the urinalysis by another nurse. First she took my height and weight and had me read an eye chart on the wall to make sure I could see. Then she handed me a cup, and, well, I’m sure you’ve probably done that before. Again, there was no issue. That said, ladies, don’t make your appointment for that certain time of the month, or you’ll have to come back in to do this section of the medical.

Then it was back to the waiting room again. Finally, I was called back by the doctor–a male doctor, but he barely had to do anything. Honestly, I requested a female doctor MOSTLY because I thought the doctor would be doing everything, and I thought a female doctor would be more understanding of me fainting during the blood test if it happened (which it didn’t).

All the doctor did was have a bit of a conversation with me (there’s a section about “mental capacity” so I guess this was testing that?) then had me lay down checked my heartbeat/breathing, then felt my stomach (I guess to check if there was a hernia or something?), had me sit up to check my ears and eyes, then stand up to touch my toes, twist side to side, look left and right to make sure I had no back/neck injuries.

And that was that. The only additional thing I believe you have to do is if you’re a woman over 40, you need a mammogram. As I’m not over 40, though, this wasn’t applicable.

I just wanted to reiterate that this was NOT stressful. All of the nurses and the doctor were very friendly and put me very much at ease. I can’t stress enough how nervous I was, particularly about getting blood drawn, and the whole experience was perfectly fine. If you have hospital/doctor/needle-anxiety like me, please try not to stress about the medical too much! It isn’t going to be as bad as you think. I know you probably hear that from a lot of people, but take it from someone who was just as stressed out as you are: it really isn’t that bad.

As for how long it took, it was about two and a half hours from the time I walked into the building to walking out. I believe it usually takes a lot less time, but again, there were computer issues that led to backed-up appointments that day. (My appointment was scheduled for 8:45; I didn’t get my blood drawn until about 9:30!)

Let me know if you have any questions about the medical process and I can answer them here! If you’ve already gotten your medical done, I’d love to hear about your experience. Let me know in the comments below.

11 Responses to “Australian Visa Onshore Medical: My Experience”

  1. Amar January 2, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    Hi, I stumbled on your post a couple of days ago and it really helped in calming me. Had my medicals today- the process was similar to what you said ( although the whole process was completed in 1 hour) . Just a ques, how long did it take for medicals to be cleared?

    • inkhearted January 2, 2014 at 9:46 am #

      Hi Amar,

      I’m glad it helped, and I’m glad your medicals went well! I was notified by my case officer four days after my appointment that my medicals had cleared. My appointment was on a Monday and I received notification on Friday, so it might take longer as you had your appointment later in the week and they don’t work on weekends. Hope everything goes well!

  2. birgitnjulian June 20, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    Hey ๐Ÿ™‚
    I got my medicals done in March and it was really straight forward. It took less than an hour from registration including getting my picture taken and also having to walk for about 10 mins to get to the radiology centre for the chest x-ray. All the medical staff were so nice and everything was so well organised!
    I have read your blog post before it though and it was so useful because I didn’t know what to expect! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • inkhearted June 21, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

      I’m glad you found the post useful! And glad your medical went well! =D

  3. pippit June 21, 2014 at 2:55 am #

    Hello there! My name is Pipit and I am originally from Indonesia. I did my health examination in Sydney last April and had the result sent directly to the immigration case officer 2 weeks later. I didn’t know anything about the result. I would like to ask will you be contacted by medibank or your case officer if you have problem with your health or they just never tell you anything if something wrong with it or not and just make a decision about the visa? I don’t hear anything about my health examination result and it’s June now and they said they are still processing my visa. Thanks so much!

    • inkhearted June 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

      Hi Pippit! I did hear from my case officer about the medical about a week after I got it done, but I think it was only because I was already in communication with my CO about issues I was having with my police check. In one of her replies about the police check, my CO mentioned that she’d received the medical information.

      From what I understand, you should be notified if something was wrong with the medical. However, if everything looked great you probably won’t hear anything about it. In your case, it’s likely good news–but you could always contact immigration and see if they can give you any information about it if you’re worried!

  4. Lee December 3, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

    Hi there! i was just wondering, did you apply for your medical checkup after you handed in your application, or before? Me and my husband are preparing to lodge our application here in sydney, and not sure whether we have to do the health check before or after. Thanks for your advice!

    • inkhearted December 3, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

      Hi! I applied for my medical check up about eight months after applying for the visa, after Immigration sent me an e-mail saying that they were finishing up processing the visa application. It used to be that if you front loaded your visa application (so, submitting it with the medical completed) your visa was processed faster, but this is no longer the case. I would advise waiting until they ask you to do the medical as the results last only a year and visa processing times are now often longer than that–you wouldn’t want to do it twice!

      Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I have a case officer! | More Than One Page - December 14, 2013

    […] my health check is IN, my AFP clearance is IN, and we are now just waiting on the FBI clearance. GOOD NEWS on that front: […]

  2. Australian Onshore Partner Visa 820 GRANTED! | More Than One Page - January 6, 2014

    […] Australian Visa Onshore Medical: My Experience […]

  3. Australian Partner Visa Cover Letter Sample | More Than One Page - January 17, 2014

    […] Australian Visa Onshore Medical: My Experience […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

