Worldbuilding Day 1: Climate and Variety

2 Jan

A while ago, one of my friends put me on to this website which lays out a schedule for 30 Days of Worldbuilding. It’s comprehensive and spread out, so that you can worldbuild to your heart’s desire without wearing yourself out.

The Thesis, aka 12 Years In The Making, aka “Hidden Magic” or “Riversent” or “Insert Title Here” has been percolating again. And what I’ve realized is that I haven’t allowed certain aspects of this book to change and grow as other aspects do. For instance: there has always been a “meeting of the nations,” and there have always been half a dozen nations, and everyone must meet up to discuss the Goings On.

Today I asked myself, “why?” So much has changed since this originally happened that it doesn’t necessarily make a lot of sense anymore. Well, it can make sense–but there are other ways to go about this, and they don’t involve biting off more than I can chew. Because I think what’s happened is that I’m focusing so much on trying to flesh out a whole world that I’m missing one of the most important things: the country in which this whole thing is set.

Kedron itself is just barely put together in the novel, and only a little more put together in my head. I’m changing things up to make it even more central and even more important in upcoming drafts, but that means I need to have a better handle on the whole thing. Therefore: worldbuilding.

What I thought I would do is take the list and adapt it however I see fit. I’ll be dealing with two countries: Bellador and Kedron, though I’ll add in the other countries if appropriate to the story. Each day, there is an exercise to complete, and that’s what I’ll be doing here–with expansion and/or adaptation, as I said.

Day One: Climate and Variety

Today’s exercise: Make a list of all the climates you can think of.  Then, pick one or two words to tack on to each climate that describe how it makes you feel. For more information, click the link! For this one, I will just be doing the climates of Bellador and Kedron, and how they make the MC feel.

Bellador:

  • Mountainous; safe, comfortable
  • Temperate; home
  • Wet; thrilling, change
  • Moderately forested; escape, hide
  • Lots of rivers, a few notable lakes; childhood, borders

Kedron:

  • Flat; open, worldly
  • Warm-temperate; oppressive
  • Wet/Dry Seasons; constant
  • Large forest growing northwards; mystery, shadowy
  • Seaside; inspirational, magical

Okay, so I don’t know if that was exactly what the exercise had in mind–but it’s a start! If you’d like to do this worldbuilding challenge with me, I suggest reading the original webpage and figuring out how it fits with the story you have in mind. I think this worked for me. It is, of course, subject to change.

Are you building your own world? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

7 Responses to “Worldbuilding Day 1: Climate and Variety”

  1. sestone519 January 2, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

    This is awesome. I’m going to have to try this challenge; I think one of the reasons I’m struggling with my novel is that I don’t have a good grasp of the world. This will absolutely help.

    • inkhearted January 3, 2014 at 5:40 am #

      I meant to reply to this and I thought I did but WordPress must have eaten it! I think you should definitely do this with me. I mean, strength in numbers right?? Even if it doesn’t cover everything, at least it will provide a baseline to work from. Do it! I want to see what you come up with.

  2. Michelle Mueller January 3, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

    This is my first time hearing of the Fantasy Worldbuilder Guide, but I think it’s a great idea. Sometimes I actually get frustrated with my worldbuilding because I get hung up on irrelevant details. I start asking questions, which leads to more questions, which leads to more questions. And before I know it, I have 100 questions with no answers, and I stop actually writing the story because I’m annoyed that I can’t answer my completely arbitrary questions about the invention of the wheel by a mad scientist 600 years prior, etc. Though I suspect this guide is meant to help a writer expand his/her world, it may also help by reigning in the overthinkers and giving us something more concrete to work with. Thanks for introducing me to the idea! I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    • inkhearted January 3, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

      I’m exactly the same way. If I start thinking about it too much I get caught up in the innocuous details that will never get a mention in the story, and it all becomes much too overwhelming! I haven’t actually gone through all 30 days to see what they’re all about yet (fearing that would also get overwhelming) but taking it one day at a time has been easy so far. Let me know if you end up doing anything like this and if it helps!

      • Michelle Mueller January 4, 2014 at 7:54 am #

        Glad to hear that I’m not the only one who has these problems! When I looked at the site you linked, I also did not go through all 30 days. I might have been tempted to sit there right then and try to do them all. I’ll let you know if I give it a shot!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Worldbuilding Day 2: Physical Planet | More Than One Page - January 3, 2014

    […] explained in my previous post that I am doing a 30-day worldbuilding challenge in hopes of enriching the novel I’m trying […]

  2. 30 Days of World Building, Day 1: Climate & Variety | Paper, Pen, and No Plan - January 4, 2014

    […] If you’re interested in taking the challenge yourself,  check out the website here. And be sure to check out Emily’s progress here. […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

