Worldbuilding Day 2: Physical Planet

3 Jan

I explained in my previous post that I am doing a 30-day worldbuilding challenge in hopes of enriching the novel I’m trying to edit. I would love to see others going through the same process, so if you’d like to join in feel free to link me to your blog in the comments below. Let’s see what we can come up with.

Day 2: Physical Planet

Write down ten plot devices that relate to weather, and what they will do to the story. (Click the link above for more info!) I’ll be doing five.

Weather is a tricky one for me. While the book starts off in a world that’s being drenched in a storm, much of the book takes place indoors, and it’s easy to forget about weather when the well-maintained palace roof is keeping raindrops off your character’s head. However, weather is ever-present; they’ll see it out the window, feel a draft as a door opens to let someone in, lament that it’s preventing them from going riding (or lament other duties keeping them from riding on such a gorgeous day). I know I talk about the weather a lot–wouldn’t it make sense for the characters to think about it every now and then?

So, yes, I need to get better at weather-related things. However, as far as main plot points go, I don’t think I have too many of them for the very reasons I just stated. This is very much an “indoors” book, and it’s indoors  in a country that is mostly dry, relatively sunny, with a moderate temperature during the winter.

That said, there is that little section where I’ve got three characters traipsing through the Bellan forest at the start of winter, not wanting to be found… so… well, that’s a good place to start, isn’t it?

  1. First snowfall. Forces the travelers to leave a trail, which results in being found.
  2. Wet weather during trek. Dampens MC’s sense of adventure.
  3. Harsh winter.  Snow prevents Roderick from going to Kedron immediately.
  4. Late spring storms in Kedron. Make it easier for navies to creep closer to the capital.
  5. Summer storms. Reflect mood going home.

These examples are kind of lame. But the exercise made me think about weather and the little bits and pieces I can include throughout the book, so there’s that.

Fun Fact: The entire plot of the book used to revolve around Kedron wanting to break the curse that MC’s father had placed on it to live its days in eternal ice and snow. This was way before Frozen was even a thought. Now, no one can remember the last time it snowed.

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

