Australian Partner Visa Cover Letter Sample

17 Jan

I keep getting questions about what our cover letter looked like for our visa application. A cover letter isn’t necessarily a requirement for most Australian visas, but it’s nice to include as it gives your case officer an idea of who you are and adds a personal touch amidst all of the forms and statements. For those of you curious, here is the cover letter we included with our partner visa application:

 

[Date] 

To the Immigration Application Officer:

Attached is my application for the Onshore Partner Visa (subclass 820). The application is complete except for the medical and police checks. I have sent in an application for a criminal records check through the FBI and will send it in as soon as I receive it. I will complete the medical as soon as advised.

I have assembled the application in accordance with the document checklist, which I hope makes it quick and easy to go through. While we have attached evidence of our genuine and continuing relationship, please let us know if more evidence is needed or if you would like to conduct an interview—we would be more than willing to comply.

My husband and I met online in 2005 and met in person in 2008. In June 2012, after graduating from university, I arrived in Australia on a work and holiday visa. We have been living together since and married in November 2012. We have spent a lot of time and money flying back and forth over the Pacific to see each other and hope to be granted the ability to live and work alongside each other without being separated.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can provide. I hope to hear from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,
[Names]
[Contact Detail — e-mail and mobile number]

 

This letter was written based on a similar letter I’d found somewhere–I can’t remember where or I’d link to it! This is not the only way to write a cover letter, by any means. You might find something that works better for you, but like I said, I’ve been getting questions about ours and this worked for us.

Basically, you want to start with what it is you are applying for and let the case officer know if anything is missing from your application–in my case, the police clearances and medical check. Let them know how far along you are in obtaining these items, or if you intend to wait until you are asked for them. I believe the police clearances and medicals are the only items that you can get away with leaving out of your initial application, but I could be wrong.

Your second paragraph should mention what you have already included and how you assembled the application. In our case, “in accordance with the document checklist.” Additionally, I offered the ability to hand over more evidence if needed. If they need more evidence they will typically ask for it rather than dismiss your application outright, but I thought the offer was good to include.

Lastly, I told the case officer a little bit about ourselves and why we wanted the visa. For partner visas, this answer is pretty obvious–“we want to be together.” However, the little bit about you is a nice personal touch. You’ll tell more of your story in your relationship statements later on. I think it’s good to give the case officer a little taste of what they’ll be seeing and dealing with.

I hope that helps! If you have any questions about the Australian partner visa application process, check out the following links. If you have any questions, let me know in the comments below!

18 Responses to “Australian Partner Visa Cover Letter Sample”

  1. Becky June 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm #

    Where did you get the FBI application to send off?

    • inkhearted June 23, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

      Hi Becky! You can find it on the FBI website: http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks/submitting-an-identity-history-summary-request-to-the-fbi

      You’ll see a link for the application form at the top of the page. Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

      • Jan Paolo Mosende January 27, 2015 at 7:56 am #

        Hi! Did you apply online ?

      • inkhearted January 27, 2015 at 4:10 pm #

        Hi! No, I didn’t. Applying online wasn’t an option when I submitted my application, unfortunately. I hear it’s pretty easy though!

      • Jan Paolo Mosende January 28, 2015 at 11:32 am #

        thanks for replying .. my wife and i is planning to apply online. but there’s a 5 questions hard for us to answer. do you answer all of this in your application?

        Give details of the social aspects of the relationship?

        Give details of the nature of the household?

        Give details of the social aspects of the relationship?

        Give details of the nature of the commitment the applicant and the sponsor have to each other?

        Give details of the development of the relationship between the applicant and the sponsor?

      • inkhearted January 28, 2015 at 6:15 pm #

        These are all the most important questions on the application. =D You’ll need evidence to back your answers up as well. Have a look at another of my posts, “Things We Included in Our Australian Partner Visa.” I have everything that we listed as evidence for each of these topics there:

        https://readwritetravel.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/things-we-included-in-our-australian-partner-visa-820/comment-page-1/

    • Jan Paolo Mosende January 29, 2015 at 7:20 am #

      wow! thank you that helps us.. have got interviewed about the application? and did you do a story of your relationship?

      • inkhearted January 29, 2015 at 4:56 pm #

        I never got interviewed, but we did have to do the relationship story. Just start from the beginning–how you met, when your relationship started becoming serious, and how it developed. Hope that helps!

      • Jan Paolo Mosende January 30, 2015 at 11:13 am #

        thanks a lot! : . .did the both of you write a relationship story ? or just 1relationship story ?hmmm..

      • inkhearted January 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm #

        We both had to write one. However, I applied two years ago so the requirements might have changed!

      • Jan Paolo Mosende February 1, 2015 at 4:51 pm #

        ok miss inkheart ! 🙂 thanks for your help!! 🙂 take care !

  2. rakugakids July 5, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    Hi, your information about applying for the 820 visa is very helpful. I would like to ask, after you lodge your application without health check and police check, did you receive the bridging visa right after the lodging? because I am facing the same problem that it will take a pretty long time for me to get the police check from the countries that I’ve stayed in the part 10 years. Just wonder if I will be granted a bridging visa even my application is without police check.
    thanks!

    • inkhearted July 5, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

      Hi Rakugakids! Yes, you will be granted a bridging visa shortly after lodging even if you haven’t handed in your police check. The people at immigration understand that police checks can take a long time to process, so they still give you all the perks even if you haven’t handed everything in yet. 🙂 Good luck with your application!

      • rakugakids July 6, 2014 at 12:36 am #

        thanks for your reply, it does ease my mind!
        however, i will be transferring from tourist visa to the spouse visa, will that be more difficult to obtain the spouse visa? coz you’ve mentioned that you were having the working/holiday visa, it does make more sense to the case officer…
        i know it’s kinda risky way to transfer from tourist to spouse visa, but the immigration booklet didn’t say a definite “no” to these kinds of cases..

      • inkhearted July 6, 2014 at 8:49 am #

        Nope, it shouldn’t make a difference. 🙂 People apply for spouse visas on tourist visas all the time. It’s only risky in that if immigration suspects you are coming over for the purpose of applying for another visa, they can put a “No Further Stay” condition on your tourist visa, which would make it impossible for you to apply. I haven’t seen a case where that happened, though, so I don’t think it’s very common–nothing to worry about!

        It definitely shouldn’t affect getting your bridging visa, though. Once you apply, you’re treated the same as everyone else regardless of which visa you were on previously. 🙂 Hope that helps!

  3. pauline March 25, 2015 at 12:09 pm #

    Hi
    First of all, what an amazing blog for us visas applicant!!!

    My name is pauline I am from France. I am about to apply for a partner visa with my Australian boyfriend
    I have a question about your bridging visa 🙂
    How long did it take to receive your bridging visa after giving the visa application in person?
    Also, could you travel overseas with your bridging visa? I would like to visit my family in France for a couples of weeks while the visa is processing

    Thanks in advance for your help

    • inkhearted March 25, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

      Hi Pauline, I’m glad you’ve found my blog helpful! 🙂 After applying for the partner visa, I believe the letter for the bridging visa was sent about a week or so later. However, it was backdated to the day I applied–so if my visa had expired the day after I applied for the partner visa, I still would have been on a substantive visa even though I didn’t have the bridging visa letter. You can always mention when your visa expires and they can expedite the confirmation of a bridging visa if you’re worried about it!

      You can’t travel on the bridging visa that they give you — Bridging Visa A. However, you can apply for Bridging Visa B, which does come with travel rights. I never applied for a BVB so I don’t know much about it, but it sounds like it’s fairly straightforward. 🙂

      Let me know if you have any other questions!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things We Included in Our Australian Partner Visa (820) | More Than One Page - January 17, 2014

    […] Cover letter explaining that the police check from the FBI is on its way, and that the medical will be completed as soon as advised. (Check out our sample cover letter here.) […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

