Book Review: The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood

28 Feb

ImageWidge is an orphan who would do anything to get out of the orphanage and into a family. When he’s first whisked away, it’s to be the apprentice of a harsh man who teaches Widge how to read and write in a shorthand script that he invented. When he masters this skill, Widge is taken to a new master who wants to use his skills to copy Shakespeare’s new play, Hamlet. But when Widge sees the play, he’s entranced–and when he meets the players, he knows he can’t betray them. But his new master will stop at nothing, and if Widge won’t steal the play, someone will have to. The question is, who?

This book was well written in that the prose flowed and the dialogue was true to the era. I quite liked running through the streets of London with Widge and trotting around the Globe and crossing the Thames.

That said, I wasn’t a huge fan of Widge himself, or any of the characters really. They just didn’t feel deep enough for me to want to follow their adventures. There are a few “revelations” about a couple of them that I sort of shrugged off because I didn’t feel that I knew any of the characters well enough to really care. This was the biggest turn-off for me, as character-driven stories are my favorite.

The plot was a bit simple as well, but I let this slide as it is not a book intended for a well-read 24-year-old. Actually, I think the book would be wonderful for younger kids as an introduction to Shakespeare. All in all, it was a pretty fun adventure, and I’ll probably pick it up when I have my own kids and read it to them. I think younger readers would certainly get more enjoyment out of it than I did.

One Response to “Book Review: The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2014: A Year of Reading in Review | More Than One Page - December 31, 2014

    […] The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood *** […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

