Brace Yourselves: Camp NaNoWriMo Is Coming

23 Mar

Image

 

Well, it’s that time of year again. I debated for a long time over doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year, and the lure of the challenge is just too much for me. What I like about Camp is the ability to set your own word goals, and yes, mine will be lower than the norm.

I’ve been struggling with writing lately–actually, I’ve been struggling with keeping on top of just about everything. Since the beginning of this year, I’ve felt like I’ve had far too many things on my plate, and when my head’s spinning around a million miles per hour I tend to get absolutely nothing done, which just adds to the stress.

The past couple of weeks, however, I’ve stayed more or less on top of deadlines, pushed a few unnecessary things off my plate, and have been succeeding in turning off the laptop some time before bed to get in a few chapters of reading, which has, for the most part, helped out with sleep. The result? Amazing, supersonic bursts of creativity that I don’t think I’ve experienced since high school.

The result? An idea for a picture book series (now I just need an artist). Revisiting the dreaded Thesis yet again. A page-long summary of a brand new story idea that struck me one evening, causing me to rush to Nameberry to find the Perfect Names for some shiny new characters. Plot twist: I’m not actually doing any of these for Camp, but it was nice to have an actual idea and be able to think about fiction for a while!

So, here’s my plan. I’m going to be rewriting the novel I did for Camp last year. It was called The Foxglove Alliance then, and I’ve renamed it The Taddin Stone now (tentatively) to reflect the changes I hope to make. I feel as though I’ve planned it out a lot better this time, and hopefully the writing will be easier. But… plot twist #2: I’m writing long-hand.

Say what? Yeah, I don’t really write long-hand. But I already started the rewrite in this shiny new notebook that I have and still haven’t typed it up. I’m sort of afraid I’m going to lose momentum if I try. So I’ll be writing this NaNo out for as long as I can stand it. What this means is that I won’t have a hard and fast word count until the very end, which also means no daily updates on my NaNo progress this time around. But hey, if I’m writing, I’m writing, am I right?

What I like about long-hand writing is that you can easily edit, add things in, and cut things out as you’re typing it up. I like to think of it as a “free” editing session, because you were going to have to type it up anyway, so why not make a few tweaks here and there? Long-hand writing is always my go-to when I’m feeling stuck, partially because I know I get that chance to edit right off the bat. If you’re stuck, try it out–it’s saved me many times!

Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? What will you be writing this time around? What’s your word goal? Any tips and tricks to share? Let me know in the comments below!

2 Responses to “Brace Yourselves: Camp NaNoWriMo Is Coming”

  1. Natalie Jay March 28, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    Ah, I was also very hesitant about committing myself to Camp NaNo this April. As a college student, I’m super busy and often distracted by the hundreds of other things going on around campus all the time.

    I’ve been working on editing the novel I completed for NaNo in November, and it is starting to drain me of creativity. I think committing a month to just writing will really help refresh me.

    Good luck writing long hand! I enjoy it, but find that I can’t write fast enough to keep up with my train of thought, and that is SO FRUSTRATING.

    April, here we come!

    • inkhearted March 28, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

      Balancing NaNo and college is rough! I remember trying to do that my senior year in November, and it simply did not happen. Every little bit counts, though!

      I know what you mean about not being able to keep up with your thoughts when writing long hand. I have the same problem. We’ll see how it goes. I’m sure I’ll probably cave at some point during the month, it will just be a matter of when.

      I hope this is a creatively refreshing month for you. Keep me updated on your progress! =)

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

