The Bookshelf Tag

16 Aug

I was tagged by Sarah at Paper, Pen, and No Plan. The rules of the bookshelf tag are quite simple: answer the following questions about books on your bookshelf and then tag five bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so that they can read it. 🙂

Now, without further ado, the book tag!

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?
Nope! I don’t buy books in the “sob story” aisle. There are books that I’ve read that have made me cry, but I certainly don’t know that they’re going to do that before I read them. With the possible exception of Deathly Hallows, but hey, I was never going to delay reading that!

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.
I’ll go with Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer. It’s historical fantasy, which was a great transition into historical fiction. I’d read it before, but after reading Sorcery and Cecelia I now seek it out. I’ve been loving historical fiction lately.

3. Find a book that you want to reread.
I’ve been meaning to reread the Ascendance trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen–The False Prince, The Runaway King, and the Shadow Throne, the last of which I haven’t actually read yet. It’s been so long since I read the first one that I wanted to reread the first two before reading the last. It’s going to be my first reading priority after Europe.

4. Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?
Nope! I have no qualms with not finishing a book I’ve started if I don’t like it, and I certainly won’t go on to read a whole series if I don’t like it. There are some series that don’t finish as strongly as they began, but if I finished a series I can’t say I’d have any strong regrets about doing so.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?
Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith. I adore this book and have for a long time! It’s one of the first books I read that really got me into the “sword and sorcery” fantasy genre with politics and character development and a rich world–I mean, what’s not to like?

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Which is interesting because POA is actually my favorite. But by the time I started reading GOF, I was more or less in control of my own bedtime. I remember staying up late at night at just ten years old to finish one more chapter. I reread this series (then just the first four books) over and over again in those days and knew the books cover to cover. I always stopped reading when I reached the Flesh, Blood, and Bone chapter, because it was too scary to read in the dark alone.

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.
Anything by Tamora Pierce. That woman is amazing.

8. Do you have any autographed books?
Yes! Both Trickster books by Tamora Pierce, which I got signed when I met her in 2004, plus a Will of the Empress and a few Terriers that I received as gifts from my coworkers at the bookstore. And Eragon by Christopher Paolini, signed when I met him in 2004 as well.

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest.
Probably some of my picture books, honestly. I’ll go with I Know I’m a Witch or Possum Come A Knockin’.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?
I just don’t buy books that I don’t think I’d read or enjoy. I might take a chance on one from the library but I don’t buy books I think I wouldn’t like. Granted, I’ve bought a few I think I’d like that I don’t end up liking… but that’s a different answer for a different question.

 

I’m horrible at tags. I’m just going to tag anyone who’s reading this! Feel free to do your own bookshelf tag–I’d love to see what’s on your bookshelf!

One Response to “The Bookshelf Tag”

  1. sestone519 August 17, 2014 at 6:03 am #

    Great list! I can understand not picking up “sob stories”. I think it takes a certain amount of crazy to read them. And I keep hearing about “The False Prince.” That might be one of those books I have to get from the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

