Book Review: Witchrise by Victoria Lamb (Tudor Witch Trilogy #3)

28 Aug

Click to see my reviews of Witchstruck and Witchfall, books 1 and 2 of the Tudor Witch Trilogy.

Okay, so, not going to lie… this book disappointed me.Witchrise

I loved, loved, LOVED both Witchfall and Witchstruck, and I think they’re both worth reading if you’re after some quality YA historical fantasy. This third book just didn’t do it for me. It felt off; it didn’t contain a lot of the historical details I loved about the first two, and overall the writing just wasn’t as good.

Plot: Not nearly as fast-paced and suspenseful as the last two books. Marcus Dent, Top Villain, takes about half a book to show up, but all the while Meg keeps pointing things out that probably have to do with Marcus Dent, she’s pretty sure that was Marcus Dent, what if Marcus Dent is around? Except when things actually are Marcus Dent, she seems totally oblivious up to the moment that it’s too late to do anything about it. Drove me insane.

Characters: I just wasn’t sure what to make of the handful of new, random, seemingly quite important characters that made their debut in the third book. It has been a while since I read the first two, but I was blindsided–I would have been much more okay with their introduction if they had been mentioned in passing or hinted at in the last two books. As it was, it seemed like they were just thrown in there. Gilly Goodwife? Cecilie? Robert Dudley? (Who, yes, is a historical figure who has every right to be mentioned… but Lady Elizabeth is suddenly in love with him? What?)

The Love Triangle: Love triangles abound in YA literature, and I don’t always mind them, but this one just got on my nerves. It seemed forced, particularly since Meg thought she was so ugly that no man would ever want her, and yet she has THREE men vying for her attention the whole time (I mean, if you include Marcus Dent–which I guess would make this more of a weird square). Meg and Alejandro’s on-again-off-again, “I’m no good for you!” relationship just irritated me.

I can’t say how sorry I am that I can’t give a better review. I was so looking forward to this book and didn’t enjoy it much, but I really do believe that the first two books are still worth looking into if you’re at all interested in Tudor period fantasy. The conclusion wasn’t hugely satisfying, but the other two books do offer a page-turning adventure worth reading!

One Response to “Book Review: Witchrise by Victoria Lamb (Tudor Witch Trilogy #3)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2014: A Year of Reading in Review | More Than One Page - December 31, 2014

    […] Witchrise (Tudor Witch #3) by Victoria Lamb *** […]

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

