Brisbane Bookfest January 2015 Haul!

24 Jan

Anyone who knows me knows how in love I am with Bookfest. It’s a biannual event in Brisbane (and other Queensland cities) hosted by Lifeline in which the convention centre is filled with books. I’m talking hundreds of thousands of books arrayed on dozens of tables, all at cheap prices. There are three different sections: books for $1, books for $2.50, and higher quality books that are “price as marked” — usually $5 for your standard paperback.

If you thought it sounds a little bit like heaven, well, you’re not far off.

I always start in the cheapest section and work my way up. This year in the $1 section I found six really awesome children’s anthologies/classics–oversized hardcovers, illustrated, amazing covers. I remember my grandmother used to have a cupboard stocked with anthologies like this, and I could spend hours looking through them. These finds included:
DSC01188DSC011821. Treasure Island
2. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
3. Collier’s Junior Classics Volume 7: Legends of Long Ago
4. Collier’s Junior Classics Volume 9: Call of Adventure
5. The Bookshelf for Boys and Girls 3: Folk and Fairy Tales
6. The Bookshelf for Boys and Girls 4: Stories and Songs from Many Lands

The cheaper section didn’t have a great deal else that interested me this time. I’m a bit late to the game as due to work commitments I wasn’t able to get there this past week, so some areas had been picked over. I did find quite a bit in the next two sections though, including several sequels to books already on our shelves:

7. The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
8. The Lives of Christopher Chant by Diana Wynne Jones
9. The Magicians of Caprona by Diana Wynne Jones
10. Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier
11. Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Marillier

And then there were the books that were new finds for me:

12. Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier
13. The Pindar Diamond by Katie Hickman
14. Clovermead: In the Shadow of the Bear by David Randall
15. I, Coriander by Sally Gardner
16. A Perilous Power by E. Rose Sabin
17. Arthur: The Seeing Stone by Kevin Crossley Holland
18. Arthur: King of the Middle March by Kevin Crossley Holland

And then those books that I purchased for my husband (he always says I score some winning titles with him when I go to Bookfest by myself… mostly he just doesn’t want to spend 3+ hours there with me!):

19. The Army of Five Men by Shaun Hick
20. Shadow Maze by Jonathan Wylie
21. Fortress in the Eye of Time by C.J. Cherryh
22. The Anvil of Ice by Michael Scott Rohan
23. The Wounded Guardian by Duncan Lay
24. Lord of the Silver Bow by David Gemmell
25. Emperor: The Gates of Rome by Conn Iggulden

All of these cost me $93.50 and I did the most damage in the high quality section… oops! If you’re thinking about heading to Bookfest for the first time, remember to bring a rolling suitcase or something similar, especially if you’re taking public transport after putting a dent in your wallet. I like to take a suitcase and a green bag–that way I can put already purchased titles in the suitcase, but I can use the green bag to carry books I’m thinking about while I’m shopping around each section. Of course, this time it got a little out of hand and I was filling up the green bag AND my arms…

DSC01179

Can’t wait to dig my teeth into some of these books. Look out for the reviews here later!

2 Responses to “Brisbane Bookfest January 2015 Haul!”

  1. Jade @ Scatterbooker January 24, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

    Wow, that’s a pretty awesome book haul! 🙂

  2. Bipasha August 18, 2015 at 8:31 pm #

    wow, what a loot!

Leave a Reply

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Finding Happiness

Developing a positive vision of life and the people who live it, to gain a deeper understanding of kindness, compassion, generosity, and love; to be happy and to thrive.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

BEAUrocracy.

DIY. Photography. A husband. A cat. Tons of Sarcasm.

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

MegaMad 4 books

Reading is Definitely a Thing

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

"You would have to be 1/2 mad to dream me up." -Lewis Carroll

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Nine Pages

Reviews, fiction, and a grab bag of thoughts

