Australian Partner Visa (801) GRANTED!

9 Aug

Hey everyone! Long time, no post again. I am very happy to report that my second stage Australian Partner Visa (801) was granted on July 21, 2015 — just a little under 4 months post-eligibility. That means I’m now a permanent resident and I have never felt so relieved!

I am so glad that this blog has helped out so many different people. I wanted to leave a note to say that due to a busier schedule and some big life changes, I’m not going to be able to answer questions about the visa like I used to anymore. Aside from anything else, I haven’t been keeping up-to-date on the latest from Immigration. It’s now two and a half years since I first applied for the 820 and a lot of things have changed since then — I would hate to lead someone astray because I didn’t have the most recent information on hand.

That said, I highly recommend checking out http://www.australiaforum.com/ which has plenty of people who are keeping up-to-date with the latest information, plus a few migration agents who answer questions from time to time as well. It’s an invaluable resource that I used many times while collecting evidence for my visa. If you have any questions, they will certainly be able to answer them on that forum.

Good luck to everyone on their visa journeys!

10 Responses to “Australian Partner Visa (801) GRANTED!”

  1. Petalyn Marpa August 10, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

    hello! im glad to hear that your  partner visa class 801 was granted. while me is still waiting for immigrations decision on my partner visa. its been * months already since i lodge my visa but they have given me 9-12 months standard processing time . so im hoping that they will approve my visa soon. Thank you and GOD BLESS!

    YOURS SINCERELY, PETALYN

  2. Jewel August 13, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    Congrats! Just put in application for my 820 yesterday and am hoping that things go a little more smoothly for us? We have all of our paperwork together and will be uploading tomorrow, had medicals done a little over a week ago, and our background checks came back pretty quickly. Time estimates for ‘low risk’ countries are reported at about six months now and my great big hope is to have temporary residency for the kids to start school at the beginning of the new school year….cross your fingers! Congrats again!

    • inkhearted August 14, 2015 at 5:39 am #

      Hoping it goes more smoothly for you as well. I think the introduction of the online system is really helping things (for the 820 anyway — looks like I got lucky with the 801, so many people are experiencing much longer wait times!). Good luck!

    • Lisa brown October 27, 2015 at 11:15 am #

      Hi,
      We’re in the same boat. Have you managed to get your children to school? I’m hoping I can get mine there for the start of February 2016

  3. Lisa brown October 27, 2015 at 11:12 am #

    Hi Emily,
    We are currently going the the same process as you. My bridging visa starts on Jan 3rd. I can’t wait. Did it only take 9 month for you to become a permanent resident? We going through a migration expert who’s given us 12-15 month timescale. I’m not sure if she means this is for permanent residency to be granted though.

    • inkhearted October 27, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

      Hi Lisa! It was about 9 months between submitting my 820/801 application and being granted the 820. However, the 820 is only “temporary residency.” After that, I had to wait another year and a bit to submit more information for the 801. My 801 (permanent residency) was granted about four months after eligibility. So all up, it was two years and four months from submitting my application to getting permanent residency — which is actually really fast at the moment!

      Keep in mind I submitted my initial application back in March 2013. Processing times have really lengthened since then! It sounds like 12-15 months is about standard for the 820, and some are waiting that long for the 801 as well.

  4. jason chen December 27, 2015 at 2:49 am #

    Hi author, congrats on the visa grant! it must have been a roller coaster during the waiting periods. did the officer grant you a bridging visa when you submitted your application ? or did you hav to apply for it as well.

    • inkhearted December 27, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      A bridging visa is automatically granted when you apply for the 820, no additional applications needed. It goes into effect as soon as your current visa expires. 🙂

  5. Catherine December 30, 2015 at 8:52 am #

    I just wanted to say THANK YOU for documenting your experiences so well and so completely! I’m in the process of assembling the application for my partner’s visa to stay with me in Australia, and seeing someone’s direct experiences laid out like this is really, really helpful. I’m so glad your visa process worked out well – it gives me a lot of hope for ours! 😀

    • inkhearted December 31, 2015 at 7:58 am #

      So glad I could help! Good luck with your application. =)

Leave a comment

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

Life is crazy.

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Dragon Bite Books

Book Reviews by A Used Book Seller

Building A Door

"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door." - Milton Berle

apprentice, never master

"We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master." - Ernest Hemingway