820 Visa Not-Really Update (and US Police Check drama)

25 Jun

Since posting the list of things I included in my Australian partner visa (820) and the cost of the visa, those two posts have become incredibly popular and I sincerely hope that they’ve been of some help to other people going through the visa process.

As such, I’ve been wanting to post an update for quite some time. After all, we submitted the visa application three months ago. Unfortunately, there isn’t a lot to tell you–but perhaps this can give those people some idea of the processing time.

We submitted our visa at the end of March 2013 without police checks or health check, which I was told on forums to submit when asked by the case officer due to both expiring after a year. If the visa processing took longer than a year, it could mean having to redo both (and pay even more!). Many people submitted everything altogether and got their visas approved within weeks–I actually recommend that, if you think you’re low-risk, but we didn’t have our stuff together. I would have been kicked out of the country on June 14 if we hadn’t gotten that application in!

However, when we submitted the application we were told to get the police checks (US and Australia) and health check done right away by the person who took our payment. Note: we haven’t yet been assigned a case officer.

I decided there was no harm in the police checks. The Australian one was $45 and the US was $18–not a lot in the long run if I have to redo them (in comparison to the $500+ health check that needs to be done). So, the day after I submitted the application I also submitted forms to get an Australian and US police check.

The Australian one arrived within a week. Weeks later, just as I was looking up a number for the FBI to call and inquire about the status of my US police check, I received a manila envelope in the mail which got me all excited. I opened it only to find that it was a return form–my fingerprints weren’t good enough quality and needed to be redone. I very nearly had a breakdown (visas will do that to you), and huffed off to the police station the next day to get my prints done and send them off. Again.

This was the week of April 21–can’t remember which day exactly. It’s been almost eight weeks, which is the processing time estimate the US gives for such things. I’m expecting it in the mail at some point next week… whether “it” is an actual police clearance certificate or yet another request for fingerprints, that remains to be seen. It’s also entirely possible that I have to call in or send in a new form. Who knows.

So, I apologize for the lack of update in this update. As it stands, I’ve been waiting for news about my Australian partner visa (820) for three months, but I don’t think it’s entirely up to the Brisbane DIAC branch–I’m blaming the FBI for this one!

Have you run into any frustrations while applying for your partner visa? Let me know in the comments below! If you would like to see how my visa journey has been going, check out the following links:

12 Responses to “820 Visa Not-Really Update (and US Police Check drama)”

  1. Hawo December 10, 2015 at 2:48 pm #

    Hello dear
    I actually wanted to know how you did the US police check. Did you ask some one in US to do it for you?

    • inkhearted December 18, 2015 at 9:50 am #

      No, you can’t ask someone in the US to do it for you as the FBI check requires your fingerprints. If you’re in Australia you can print the relevant forms off the FBI website, go to your local police station to get the fingerprints done, and then send the application off at the post office. Hope that helps!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 820 Visa Update: Request for More Information | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  2. Things We Included in Our Australian Partner Visa (820) | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  3. The True Cost of an Australian Partner Visa (820) | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  4. The (Almost) Six-Month Australia Onshore Partner Visa (820) Waiting Update | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  5. FBI Police Check Update! | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  6. 820 Visa Applicants: Did you know you can enrol in Medicare? | More Than One Page - November 29, 2013

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

  7. I have a case officer! | More Than One Page - December 14, 2013

    […] GOOD NEWS on that front: my fingerprints were readable!! If you’ve been reading this blog, you probably remember all of my drama with getting this FBI clearance. To recap, I’ve had to submit multiple applications and, with […]

  8. Australian Onshore Partner Visa 820 GRANTED! | More Than One Page - January 6, 2014

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update (And US Police Check Drama) […]

  9. Australian Partner Visa Cover Letter Sample | More Than One Page - January 17, 2014

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update (And US Police Check Drama) […]

  10. Things We Included In Our Second Stage Australian Partner Visa (801) Application | More Than One Page - April 4, 2015

    […] 820 Visa Not-Really Update And US Police Check Drama […]

Leave a comment

Nine Pages Every Day

Something beautiful every day

Writer vs. Self

The classic struggle between a writer and not writing.

Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

The Blog of Author Olivia Berrier

jglynnwrites

An Adventure in Publishing!

"Yeah. But So What? Everybody's Weird."

~Chris Chambers, Stand By Me

Paper, Pen, and No Plan

Website & Blog of S.E. Stone

Waiting on a Word

Blogger Without a Cause

thelissachronicles

More than Just another WordPress.com site

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

More Than 1/2 Mad

Life is crazy.

The Babbling Buzzard

An odd collection of penguins

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

Dragon Bite Books

Book Reviews by A Used Book Seller

Building A Door

"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door." - Milton Berle

apprentice, never master

"We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master." - Ernest Hemingway